Bassing at night?

Thread: Bassing at night?

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

Bassing at night?

Hi all,was just wondering what the go is with catching bass at night,wild river ones? Havent heard to much about it,do many people do it, are you allowed to do it, are they useally still on the bite at night? was just thinking of giving it a try with the jackalls,any response would be appreciated.
    geoff
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Re: Bassing at night?

Fishing for bass at night can be some of the best fishing going.
    Have gone at times & got nothing but have also had 100 fish nights. Surface lures are the weapon on choice at night.
    Some info on surface bass fishing at http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/...LuringBass.htm

I dont know of any regs that say you cannot fish at night for bass, however check with your State authorities on the dates for Closed Season & Closed Waters in each state as they vary.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar

Stick to the surface lures and shallow runners, fishing structure at night is hard enough as is without having to worry about fouling up your lure. I've never been a fan of jackalls for wild bass, most of the water i fish is less than 3 metres deep with most of it being a bit more than 1 making jackalls way to heavy. Instead i mostly use slightly buoyant plugs and very lightly weighted plastics (1/16th for deep or flowing water through to 1/40th of shallow and slow moving water) as it keeps the lure in the fishes face alot longer and gives more options for casting over heaps of different habitat.

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar

Stick to the surface lures and shallow runners, fishing structure at night is hard enough as is without having to worry about fouling up your lure. I've never been a fan of jackalls for wild bass, most of the water i fish is less than 3 metres deep with most of it being a bit more than 1 making jackalls way to heavy. Instead i mostly use slightly buoyant plugs and very lightly weighted plastics (1/16th for deep or flowing water through to 1/40th of shallow and slow moving water) as it keeps the lure in the fishes face alot longer and gives more options for casting over heaps of different habitat.

Night fishing is awaome for all types of fish not just bass. Toga are awsome target in the dark aswell, and been smashed by goldens, silvers aswell all in all its a real buzz at night when you have to switch to sound rather then sight. I also enjoy when I trek to Tassie fishing for trout at night is fantastic fun aswell.

legality wise I think its fine as long as boats are correctly lite up. people fish all the barra dams at night so I can't see the difference and rivers can be apporoached from the bank at any time within season, I fish the Noosaa river a bit and fished through the night without a problem.

Check with you local guides they will know the legalities

TT

As has been mentioned in previous posts, hit up the surface. Cicada lures work a treat in wild rivers.

Ive done a heap of night fishing for Bass on the central coast of nsw as most of the other guys said surface lures are the go.Some good ones for me are Jitterbugs theres nothing better then slowly winding a surface lure in while its peacefully quite apart from all the bats then Bang! Massive surface strikes are awesome.Another one to try would be the Halco night crawlers there really heavy so easy to cast aswell.
    I would also recommend in using a Quality headlamp for night time bassing aswell

hey mate i find at night time if you only have a certain amount of water to fish and this area is not that big use surface lures as you can hear them land and it is much easier to pull through some surface lilly pads the to pull up a big chunk of weed from the depths

so i would go for surface fishing i use the night crawlers anything that you can fish reletivly slow because bass are not very good athletes and wont chase a lure that flyes straight past them also pause your lure every few seconds this works a treat

so in my opinion use surface lures such as jitterbugs ,

and hedon sura puppy's using the walk the dog retrieve technique. awsome lure

a few of my night surface bass pics

bron

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

thanks very much for all the info guys,helped out heaps,will get some good surface lures as the ones mentioned and give it ago,hanging out for it,hopefully have a good report to post for the effort.
    thanks again,really appreciated.
    geoff
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

hey there mate any paddle front surface lure is the go at night i use jitterbugs and tailormade lures i prefer blacks and dark purples for night time green and gold or purple and pink at dusk and dawn

Chhers NOjacks