Thread: Barwons Thur with Flamin Riptide

Barwons Thur with Flamin Riptide

Had the pleasure of some great comany - Rhys, Swano & Damian on board Flamin Riptide fishing off the top end of the Barwon Banks yesterday (Thur).
    More AJ's than we cared to pull up from 100m, some nice snapper, Maori cod, kingfish - a great catch - 99% on soft plastics.
    Go the chook...

Dave ><>
    Last edited by Nugget; 02-11-2007 at 07:17 AM.

Re: Barwons Thur with Flamin Riptide

Hey Dave keep those nuck chooks a secret on the show hey...lol What was the main bite time?
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Ahhh it was great to have you on board Dave.

You fitted right into the team. You did forget to mention that you needed a 15 minute smoko after landing that snodger of an AJ. It sure gave you a bit of a work out, "puufff...come on up...groan...awww, don't do that...gee he's fighting deep...big fish but dunno what it is Shark? Nah couldn't be, maybe a big AJ...damn - Where's Mono???...oooh its a big fish...now come here!!!!"

I thought you was gonna pass out on the deck! Just as well Swano had his bar code scanner to check his use by date it took that long to get him in. I was on my second batch of scone mix by the time it hit the deck!!! And for the record, it went a tidy 15 kgs.

We did have a cracker of a day. A box full of fish and heaps of laughs along the way.

Yep the chooks were the stand up performer in the deeper water, we also nailed some squappery things in the shallower stuff when we pulled up to fish a promising show at murphy's on the way in on 7" pearl white and blue neon pepper jerk shads.

Hope to see you on board Flamin Riptide again soon Dave...

Go the Chooks Rhys!! Nice work! Did you catch the AJ on a Chook and what size gear were you using on the 15kg AJ?
    Benny.

Nice fish boys, well done.

Did you get smashed by any unstoppables??????

Jeff

Ahh Rhys,

I looked at the wind yesterday and knew you'd only be one place mate. Well done on the catch. Was there any swell runnin out wide? Talk to you soon.

Craig.
    Last edited by Fixation; 02-11-2007 at 12:56 PM.

That Aj is an absolute sub! Looks very thick around the mid section compared to most aj's ive seen.
    What gear were you using for it?
    Nice fish once again!

hhmm does that Boat have a permanent lean, or is the photographer's eye a bit "wonky"??

Nah Noel, ...we're all on the level! Actually the fish was that heavy...well you know the rest!!! or it could be Nuggett could shake a few KGS???? Maybe three bloke on one side of the boat clamoring over each other for the glamor shot paparazzi style??? Trust you to notice!!!

G'day Benny, Yeah Dave scored it on a strip of fresh bonito floated under a 6 ball on an 8/0 circle. I'm pretty sure he was using a 15-24kg live fibre with 24 kg braid - it still gave him a real work out. The AJ were hot for the chook too, we also caught them on pearl white and blue pepper neon patterns.

G'day Craig, yeah couldn't resisit the weather window, took a bit of a gamble on it, been watching it fluke around for a few days but it was a good call as the conditions were pretty fair. There was the occasional roller come through but for the most part it was around a metre and a half, with just the right amount of current. With the current and the wind it worked well together. A little later in the arv when the wind got up a little, we used a shute to slow us down

Yeah Hi Jeff, yes there was the obligatory bbzzzbzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZ bzbzbbzzbzzzZZZZZZZZ...oops, now i think it knows its hooked....zzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ....ping!! !!! Bugga!!!!!!! call to be heard here and there

Last edited by revs57; 02-11-2007 at 03:47 PM.

Berkley better put in another manufacturing plant just to keep up with the demand on the Nukes - the last few weeks they've been as scarce as chooks' teeth!! You guys ordering buy the outer yet??

Good report there guys, I can imagine how much of a hoot it would have been catching such quality fish.

Nice looking fish guys well done.
    Ken

Hey Rhys, who's post is this! Dave's or your's?
    I headed out there last Sat, found some great shows on the sounder, but due to the deckie being violently sick ALL DAY found a little difficult to hold position and anchor up myself, and when i did the deckie was hanging over the side everytime.
    It certainly looks as though you boys had a great time.

We do things as a team on flamin riptide Chris, you should know that!!!

Hey guys looks like u had a great trip. I have some 5" jerkshads in NC that i will be putting on ebay shortly if u know of anybody who is after some as i too know they are as rare as rocking horse sh*t.
    Cheers Brad.