-
Ausfish Gold Member
Surprise Jack
Hi Everyone,
Went out fishing yesterday after work for a couple of hours chasing trevally and queenies. On the weekend just gone, a mate and I starting getting into quite a few trevally at the mouth of the river so I thought I'd try my luck there again. All i got out of that was a big grey back coming out of the water chasing a metal slice I'd put on for something different. Heaps of bait but no takes.
So thinking that wasn't a goer, changed back over to plastics and was drifting down a rock wall and was suprised by this catch.. not a bad jack for a random fish. I was still expecting trevally so this was a nice suprise. Forgot to take my camera but managed to snap a few shots with the phone..
Fish was caught on a gold fleck 4" powerbait...
Richard
Last edited by Richard; 02-11-2007 at 07:08 AM.
-
Re: Suprise Jack
Nice jack, the phones are taking better pics these days too.
-
Nice by catch.
He's got a massive tail, bet he went hard???
-
Thats A very good bycatchmate Cheers Chris
-
His tail is rather large - great to see you got him away from the snags. well done.
cuzza
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Yeah he did put up a good fight. Especially on the gear i was using - Berkley Dropshot 2-4kg rod, Symetre 2500 reel and 10lb fireline with a 20lb mono leader.
luckily the current was moving pretty quickly so as soon as i hooked him i was already pulling him away from the rocks. He absolutely destroyed the plastic though. Quick couple of photos and he was released to fight another day.
Richard