ok i have not tried these lures because they look like they would have a poor hook up rate.
is that tru.
really want to use them on jack
ok i have not tried these lures because they look like they would have a poor hook up rate.
is that tru.
really want to use them on jack
just get one and try it out mate its the only way ya realy going to find out, iv had 2 of them, one small and the next size up both in the natural colour. the little one got me about 10 nice gt's and about 15 small bigeyes, and 3 mid size cod then some thing big stole it from me and the other prawnstar only got a small flatty them some fat little prick stole it and a rmg scorpion from my tackle box at the bli bli barra park. they do work good mate, im looking at getting a nother but i want them magic red ones that get all the magic red fish but i cant find that colour any where but when i do il be $13 poorer
figjam :wink:
now don't tell anyone,,,, but this is what scored my first fish on these plastic thingo's
had my usual bait gear in the water,, and decided to chuck the prawnstar on and see what all the commotion was about with fishing with plastics
only had a couple of casts,,, and found out the hard way that i left the clutch off the old baitrunner and ended up with a small birdsnest,,,, a few seconds later,,, tangle fixed,,,adjusted clutch and continued to reel in the line and found a huge lizard attached
i call it huge,,, as it was slightly bigger than the prawnstar itself,,,, but smaller than a smoke packet,,, so it wasn't gigantic
as far as hook up it concerned,, theres been a few threads where the experts recommend taking the "front" hook of and only use the treble,,,, i didn't get a chance to try this,,,, was in shock for a few hours after i caught the lizard that it actually worked,,,,,
can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE
Mate, I've scored two cod on these things so they do work and that's straight out of the box with no modifications.
Got to admit I'm just starting to have success on these so I'm probably not the best person to speak to about them. That being said a lot of other people have been getting Jacks, Barra and lots of other fish on them and I haven't heard anything bad about them.
Prawn Stars certainly work, but do not be too fooled by the "flicking tail" feature, it works a treat in the tackle shop, but in fact, when in the water the weight of the lure if not really enough to allow the lure to remain still when you "twitch" the rod to let the tail flick, (if you get what I mean)I have watched various lures working under water with Snorkle gear and have watch Prawn Stars dozens of times, but in saying that I reckon they are just about the best Flathead lure on the Market, as well as a thousand other species I guess.
noelM is right, the flicking action doesnt really work that well in the water, and from what I have seen using them you dont net to flick and jerk the lure anyway. Nice steady walk along the bottom or over snags has produced the good OK.
I recently started putting two or three beads (any colour) on the main line between the front and back trebble. This stops the tail coming forward when retrieved. this resolved the problem of the trebbles tangling each other. I hope that was explained right.! I got this tip from someone on this site and it is good.
Worked a treat on jacks and cod etc up at hinchenbrook a couple of months ago. Only major downside, they take a while to rig up if your in a hurry.
Upgrade trebbles too if you like, I did 'just in case'!!
Last edited by Steve B; 31-10-2007 at 08:59 AM.
I have found that with the Prawn Stars there is no retrieve that is too slow, and indeed a Flathead will "hit" one when it is stationary on the bottom, I found a quick "twitch, twitch" then a rest, followed by a wind or two, then repeat, was the best method, caught Whiting, Bream, Longtoms, Mullet and a few other goodies on them (including Toads) so they are pretty versatile.
what about for jack??
i have my lures that i have good success on bream an flattie.
i know there are people here who use them on jack but im just wondering the hook up rate? also they look pritty snag resistant
Mate have a look at this post here; similarly all my fish that I have caught on them (admittedly not jacks) have been with the fish taking them at the tail also.
Last edited by Synful; 31-10-2007 at 06:39 PM. Reason: Clarification.
Well you got me i had to go and get one of these things.
looks interesting.
Occurs to me that they could do with some "tuning" for various situations but thats the good thing about them.
I can see quite some potential for rearranging the hook arrangements and adding and removing weight even beyond the the facility provided.
from what the " local identity" in the sports store said the natural and honey colours are the only ones to bother with..........I cant see that the purple one will work all that well........ I can see advantages to the red one...... but the honey looks most like the real thing.
I can certainly see that the beads between the hooks is a very good idea..
I dont think I would be wanting to tie one of these things on in the field.....i'll be pre rigging mine to a ring or swivel for an easy life.
I think they have a better hookup rate than most lures. Any fish that crunches this lure will have a lot of trouble spitting it out. They are a gun lure for jacks, just read thru the reports section.
They do take a little bit of tuning, and I spent a long time on their website which has a wealth of information on how to use them. They work still, twitched, bounced and whipped. Work them in all the same ways an Sp would be worked. Yes, I agree with the other guys, the tail action doesnt work much on soft twitches, and yes you dont need tail action much anyway, but I often give them a big tug to get the tail going, then do lots of small tugs along the bottom. Mix it up. Most of my catches have come on the drop straight after the cast.
Tip; The tail cavity is great for liquid additives like Stimulate.
The only problem I get, is the front treble often comes loose. I check it every few casts, and reset it.
These lures are so versatile, they will catch lots of species. Especially jacks, cods and flattys. Spend some time experimenting with them.
I've had a medium in bloodup colour sitting there for awhile.. I reckon they are the jack killers in this colour.
Good day,
Bagged some good river flatties and bream on mine (Tas)
Slow bottom crawl retrieve seems best for me.
Cheers all
Reidy
The purple colour is great for murky water and works a treat on barra. Having said that, I have had good success on all colours and love using the clear one in very clean water. I have found that when you give the lure a fairly hard flick with the rod tip that you do get a flicking action with the tail as sometimes the tail catches and the lure comes back bent, however just about any retrieve works well.
The best thing about these lures is that they are very snag resistant which is great for letting them sink into deep snags. If they do get snagged they generally come off fairly easily. I have always found the hookup rate to be very good as well.
I just bought a couple to give a go, I havnt been successful with SP's to date but hope that my luck will change soon.
________
Herbalaire