Fishing CQ

Thread: Fishing CQ

Fishing CQ

Ok here we go
    IT was ROUGH ROUGH ROUGH
    But we came and conquer the awsome ocean in all it's fury
    Went for a squid because there wasn't many places we could sit in the mongrel Northelrly wind
    And it was a 13 to 15knots according to Rundle island
    So anyways we went to my favourite squiding possie where we managed 8 squid not as big as we have been getting them but sweet calamari all the same
    So after a couple hours we decided to troll couple of spoons around a few places
    to no avail thou, we decide to pull up and have a bottom bash on a shallow spot beside one of the islands in a bit of shelter not much shelter but some all the same.
    I hooked up on a 31 cm tuskie and thought what the hell put him down live off the bottom
    It hadn't been down longer then 3 mins when off it went and BOOSHKA in goes the gaff to a nice sized cod.
    Then that was it
    Headed home into a side way 16 knots of Northerly
    Home but was worth for just a short trip out
    And met Boogdude ths morning on his way out while he is up here fishing
    Mate hope you did ok and didn't go to far out otherwise ya may have got a wet bottom
    Catch you up soon Jarayad
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Re: Fishing CQ

Well done JT!
    Geez, a 31cm tuskie as a livie, classic!
    I know Cod have got big gobs but I reckon he would have trouble getting it down!

How long do the Squid hang around for up there?
    When I was up there a couple of months ago there was plenty.

Good on you mate,

Jeff.

I caught a cod the same way it weighed 8kg( the biggest one ive caught actually), i knew i had a little fish on so i dropped it back down, WAMMO when i pulled the cod up it had my small parrot in its gob,prob 20cm.

Quote Originally Posted by ffejsmada View Post
    Well done JT!
    Geez, a 31cm tuskie as a livie, classic!
    I know Cod have got big gobs but I reckon he would have trouble getting it down!

How long do the Squid hang around for up there?
    When I was up there a couple of months ago there was plenty.

Good on you mate,

Jeff.
    Mate i think some just live here all the time often get them on and off but not in the numbers like we got them during winter or the size.
    Thought the livie would of got a bigger fish
    But this sized cod are better eating
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

Yeah i went too far. Trolled over towards north keppel. Got 3 hits on the lures but no fish in boat. Threw poppers and slugs all day, chased some tuna out near conicals. God it got a bit hairy out there. Seen a couple of coutas following the tuna, HUGE.

Got a coral trout on the halco went 40cms. Threw him into the esky. 11am decide to make the slow journey home. I was down one trolling rod, as i broke an eyelet in the bashing. So i put the tld out, and hooked a halco to my new b capricorn 4500j and 6-8kg stick. 30lb suffix braid and 50lb leader. Trolled for 10 mins them zzzzzzzzz. capricorn screaming. Lost bout 200m in 5secs. Had to put the tinnie in gear and chase. I was steering with my left leg on the tiller and was winding up the slack. An hour of this later WOW. 55LB SPANISH MACKERAL. Boated it by myself with not much room to move in the tinnie. Bashed it with the gaff handle bout 30times. Heart is still pumping now. length was 163 cms . Had mackeral steaks for dinner. YUMMM. have the freezer loaded.

Love the fishing up here. JT i will catch up next week.
    Post the pics on the offshore forum

Good effort that JT.

Hope the weather plays the game for next weekend.

Had the motor serviced and it seems as though the stator wast the root of the problems last trip out

Only problem is now mark the Closure's come in again on the 3rd lerts hope the weather not good lol
    Cheers JT
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Yeah good call, forgot all about those bloody closures
    Good thing someone is looking out for me

Good to see that you conquered the ocean and those sweet squid again,JT.
    Nice eating sized cod there as well.
    I'm heading out in the morning after a feed of nannies and hopefully a mackeral or 2. Fingers crossed it doesn't blow up too rough as my old stacer isn't quite as comfy in the chop as your cruisecraft..

Good luck brother
    Suppose it's a bit choppy up there too or ?????
    And by the radar few storms as well?
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Quote Originally Posted by boogdude View Post
    Trolled for 10 mins them zzzzzzzzz. capricorn screaming. Lost bout 200m in 5secs. Had to put the tinnie in gear and chase. I was steering with my left leg on the tiller and was winding up the slack. An hour of this later WOW. 55LB SPANISH MACKERAL. Boated it by myself with not much room to move in the tinnie. Bashed it with the gaff handle bout 30times. Heart is still pumping now. length was 163 cms .
    The image I have in my mind is priceless! Good one though mate. Where was this? On the way back to the harbour from Conical?

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    Only problem is now mark the Closure's come in again on the 3rd lerts hope the weather not good lol
    Cheers JT
    I am planning on a 'no bait' trolling only trip next time. This will be during the next reef closure as it is a good excuse not to take any bait and to spend some time trying to get onto one of the Spaniards!

Hi guys

We nabbed this one off Barren on Saturday just over 1 metre, Dano had a brand new rod & reel he christened, Red & White Halco did the trick. We caught one other doggy, there were heaps of tuna schools but weren't interested in anything we through at them.

Al

Sorry guys, wasn't Barren it was Outer Rock

Al

Good stuff Yap
    !0 15 for weekend huh will try the same sunday have to cart water to home seeing the rain isn't playing the game
    VHF CHANNEL 21