View Poll Results: What offshore boat would you prefer?

Voters
315. You may not vote on this poll
  • Kevlacat 2400 offshore with twin 140 suzuki

195 61.90%
  • Haines Hunter 800 with twin 200 hondas

102 32.38%
  • 800 seastorm seastrength with 250 yamaha 4 strk

17 5.40%
  • 1900 Alison with a 115 Mercury Opitmax

10 3.17%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: What Offshore Boat would you prefer?

Re: What Offshore Boat would you prefer?

Hay insideout

this boat has twin 140 suzukis with 4 blade stainless steel props witch are counter rotationg with give the boat a bit more lift out the water. In the test run the boat pulled 91km/hr at around 6 grand and still had more room for the motors to be trimmed up witch i am asumming would give it that little more speed.

Cheers PM

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic_Magic View Post
    Hay insideout

this boat has twin 140 suzukis with 4 blade stainless steel props witch are counter rotationg with give the boat a bit more lift out the water. In the test run the boat pulled 91km/hr at around 6 grand and still had more room for the motors to be trimmed up witch i am asumming would give it that little more speed.

Cheers PM
    What pitch are you running to acheive 91kl/hr at 6000rpm. I need a peice of that

Retired Honda Master Tech

scrap the allison and add cruise craft.

Pm,

Was that 91km/hr on the speedo or on the GPS. the speedo on my boat is wildly ambitious and would give a reading similar to those sorts of numbers. the speed on the GPS is a very different story though. Never trust a speedo that is not hooked to a GPS.

Still a bloody good boat irrespective of top end speed as it is a rare day offshore that you can run at anything near WOT. Once you get used to the cat quirks (if you have never owned one) you will never look back. Can i suggest that you take the time to spend a couple of hours on the water with the dealer when the new boat is delivered to get them to teach you how to drive it. It will speed up your knowledge on how best to handle them and get the most out of a cat and get you confident with the boat in a much shorter timeframe.

Good luck and don't forget to post some pics when it arrives.
    Jason

Quote Originally Posted by RICKTA View Post
    scrap the allison and add cruise craft.
    Well cc'c are better finished but they dont ride better !
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

gday plastic magic, tell your oldman he has made a good choice of boat to buy and finnatical is dead right in his comments about learning to drive a cat,for they are different!! Took me 1 year to learn the traits of my KC and every day we go fishing, i still learn more...

Im pretty happy with this hh 233 formula 250 suzi.

hhmm I reckon ANYTHING rides better than an Alison!!

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    hhmm I reckon ANYTHING rides better than an Alison!!
    Really? What Allison are you refering to? The 19 hasn a deepish v and is quite heavy compared to siilar sized boats giving them a fair ride, they also dont have those big shoulders that the cc's have which tend to bang!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Hey Fellas thanks for all the replys.

Finnatical the speed was regeristered on the Speedo. Yeah Dad has owned a 5.5m Noosa Cat Sportsman for 7 years now and has never looked at going back to a mono. So i was impressed with the ride of the 5.5m Noosa-cat but the KC-2400 is an ubeatable trailer boat. Again thanks for the replys.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

Mate if you have the money you would be mad to go past the Kev.Cat
    I dont think I have heard a bad word about them except you have to relearn how to handle that style of boat if you are only used to a single hull.

That's grand dad bought it isn't it Loch? Was talking to Perko the other day.

And at 6,000rpm the Zukes should hit the rev limiter.
    Last edited by Smithy; 11-11-2007 at 08:08 AM.

Hay Smithy dont spoil the party i was enjoying sound like a rich prick for a while there. Yea grandady came good for the familly and the lad has been walking around with a bulge in his duds for a week now. The whole Perkins clan are going to enjoy a lot of good days and nights out to sea thanks to MUM & DAD who i must say worked very hard to be able to afford this boat.To any one who has still got there parents love EM while you got em. CHEERS PUP.

It seems every time the name "Allison" is brought up, people seem to bag the crap out of them. Regardless of what people may say, they are in actual fact a good quality boat. At least there are some people in this forum who actually give these boats a fair go and appreciate what they are.

We have owned the Fisherman 189 and Fisherman 21. Both great boats, which is the reason why we chose to stay with Allison rather than go to different brands. We have travelled in 1.5 metre seas at 50 – 60 kms in the 21 and the boat performed well.

I also agree with the comment about comparing the Allison Ocean Angler 244 with the other hulls, in order for a fairer comparison. I mean 8 metre boats with large twins, compared to a 6 metre boat with a 115??

Well since Nick175 has restarted this thread I will also ask, like Ricta did, what's wrong with C.C. Outsider being on the list??

I'm now looking for an outside boat up to 6mt mono and need more options.

Jeffrey