Spelling
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Spelling

Spelling

Further to comments on another thread:

For the life of me I just can't comprehend why, when the technology is there, that those who struggle with spelling, don't use Firefox. Apart from it being a much faster browser, it is now equipped with a British/English spellchecker so we don't have to put up with words like "color,gray," etc.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/

Hate to sound like an old fart as the spelling doesn't bother me that much, but I know that some folk just switch off when they see a badly composed message.
    If you want to be heard, it pays to be legible.

This is not meant as criticism, but constructive help.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Re: Spelling

i can only thank you once for this post... i must admit i am one who switches off if there is a lot of text spelling.
    My pet hate, & it appears to be a worldwide phenomena, is loose or looser instead of lose & loser aaaarrrrggghhh

If I could find a mobile phone that will not or can not receive text messages I would be a very happy man. I do not answer, reply to read or even check who the sender was with text messages, I just delete the messages.

I figure that if people want to contact me they can RING me, not deface my phone with graffiti.

Call me old, but gee I am happy not being annoyed with bad grammar and senseless gibberish.

This only comes second to junk email and chain emails. If I get another crying sob story about some mother whose son has just drank a litre of lighter fluid and needs funds for surgery or whatever I am going to forward it to the channel 7 crew to try and denounce the frauds.

Last edited by tunaticer; 26-10-2007 at 05:21 PM.

You'll probaley find that i fall into this catagory alot
    With my amazing looking at the keyboard while i type skills i rather lack the efficency to check what i type and just click on the post reply or submitt before it's too late.
    Or i have had to many Jimbeam and cola cans to care
    And really ?????????????
    Cheers JT
    Last edited by jtpython; 26-10-2007 at 06:42 PM.
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

goot toooo go alongh wif teh texxt messges, them shite me toe teers.
    ies ok wif teh spelin.

ceers

leppa

I find the comments offensive to those who may have a learning/intellectual disabilty.

Dont we have better things to whinge about? Granted, some are lazy spellers, but to poke fun at those who have no control over their intellect/learning?

Best stick to fishing if you ask me

I thought Kingtin made a valid point -- if spelling isn't your strong point, why not use Firefox so other members can understand you better? Nobody is good at everything; there's no shame in it. Me, I'm slow at tying knots so I use a Tail-Knott-R tool.

Spell checkers aside though, I reckon Firefox is simply a better browser. Bill Gates needs to get his act together.
    Last edited by Nic; 26-10-2007 at 07:32 PM. Reason: Made my language a bit more proper

Quote Originally Posted by Marlin_Mike View Post
    I find the comments offensive to those who may have a learning/intellectual disabilty.

Dont we have better things to whinge about? Granted, some are lazy spellers, but to poke fun at those who have no control over their intellect/learning?

Best stick to fishing if you ask me

Mike, I can't see that anyone is deliberately targeting the intellectually impaired. The whole object of the original post was to illustrate help for those who have trouble with spelling no matter what the reason.

One of my sons is intellectually impaired but he avails himself of anything that can make him better communicate with others, indeed, it was he who first showed me the spell checking available through Firefox, which in turn had been illustrated to him by his school.

It appears (to me) that you appear to have made a fairly innocent, helpful, and light hearted thread into something rather "heavy".

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

G'day Kev, good to see your back mate

Spelling aside, if you need a hand to get the Whitley wet (spelling ) i'll give you a hand.

I'm one of those with dyslexia.
    Thank goodness for the spell checker
    Bummer it's US and not aussie though
    I can forgive the innocent spelling mistake or grammar mistake but I also cannot stand the sms way that words are written sometimes.
    I reckon it's a load of bollocks that was invented for lazy slugs by lazy slugs and has done absolutely nothing to help the youth of Australia spell or punctuate correctly in the official language of the nation.
    We have a perfectly good language so why change it to that sms crap.
    I'd look like a dill if I went up to my mates and said gidday m8 or said cu instead of see you.
    I wonder how many resumes have been written with that sms crap in it??
    I wonder how many applicants do not get a second look??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    G'day Kev, good to see your back mate

Spelling aside, if you need a hand to get the Whitley wet (spelling ) i'll give you a hand.
    Cheers Damo, but it'll be a month or so yet. I'll keep you in mind.

PS Hope you're good at CPR :-)

[quote=finga;703712]

Scott, you can choose British/English if you want. Nobody has fully comprehended Aussie yet to make a dictionary.

it sometimes has the opposite effect as well,,,, it can be quite humourous

and i think we all get to see (myself included),,, if there's too many additives involved to numb the brain cells a bit with a post or thread reply

firefox is good,,, but its not the end of all our problems,,, i for one can't run firefox on the laptop,, as i have too many programmes associated with work that simply don't recognise it,,,,

and even on mrs choppa 'putor,, firefox still has drama's with the screen ""freezing"" halfway through a response,,, or at that crucial moment when chopjr is blasting away a few aliens in arcade

i still for the love of me am trying to overcome my addiction with the "comma" button,,,,,,,let alone go into spell check

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

[quote=kingtin;703715]
    Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post

Scott, you can choose British/English if you want. Nobody has fully comprehended Aussie yet to make a dictionary.

Well bugger me!

"Microsoft has announced that it will include quintessential Aussie words, including g'day, sickie, jackaroo, dag, dinky-di, ute, sanga, wuss and cooee, in its next version of 2007 Microsoft Office System."

The Aussie dictionary:

http://www.amazingaustralia.com.au/language.htm

Kev, respectfully think you may have missed the irony in Mikes' reply........
    Cheers!