Teemburra ( The Road Trip)

Thread: Teemburra ( The Road Trip)

Teemburra ( The Road Trip)

Hi All .... The road trip continues ( Leaving Lucinda)

With my mate Whitey under ever increasing pressure to having his parole revoked ( teenage kids ) We had to make a move earlier than planned + with the SE winds persisting for the next few days .... We agreed to head off on Sunday morning. Our next destination was to be a day spent at Seaforth for a little inshore fishing ... but the wind killed that idea ...... So it was off to Monduran ... Some 12 hours drive away
    Headed off around 6am ( a little pissed off .... & not looking forward to a straight through drive) ....... At our fuel stop at Townsville ... I quickly grabbed my map book & noticed that Teemburra was a potential destination So I suggested it to Whitey .... Set the destination in the GPS ... & off we went.
    We arrived at the local pub mid afternoon to ask for some directions , advice etc .... & a couple of coldies ( the publican was a lovely lady) ..... No worries! ..... Off to the dam ...... Without having a clue of what we were doing , we launched the boat in once again unfavorable conditions ....... We headed up the right hand arm of the dam , through some terrific country ... Then started casting!. ... Except for 1 barra that smashed a lure of mine & sent it flying 6 feet into the air .... It was an uneventful couple of hours!
    We took to a small feeder & what could be described as a picturesque NT billabong with lots of weed , rock & lilly pads ..... A quick change of lures to shallow runners ( Halcos & Scorpion Skin deeps) had us hooking & loosing heaps of small barra & landing a few + a small sooty (my first) ....... Awesome seeing fish hit lures on near enough to the surface [ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 15085

Attachment 15086

Attachment 15087

Attachment 15088 I think the count was 4 landed & 5 lost in around 45 mins . The best thing was that Whitey had now caught his first , second & third barra ..... not big ... but still barra
    As we were loosing our light fast ... we slowly headed back , quite please with our little 3 hour session ..... What a magic place ! ..... I hope we can make it back & spend a few days there on our next trip!
    With the boat back on the trailer (7.00pm) & after a coffee & sambo I was feeling good enough to continue down to Monduran ( some 6 hours away) ..... Nagg
    Last edited by NAGG; 26-10-2007 at 01:17 PM.

Re: Teemburra ( The Road Trip)

I'm enjoying this roadtrip fellas, good stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    I'm enjoying this roadtrip fellas, good stuff.
    Glad to hear that your enjoying it ..... Just maybe it might inspire a few others to do something like it & post their reports........... I know I like reading about new places! ...... Nagg

PS ... Just Monduran to go (later tonight)

goota love those sootys there agreat fish.cheers bdowdy...brett