Thread: Peter Faust ( The Road Trip)

Peter Faust ( The Road Trip)

Hi All The next leg of the road trip !
    Moving on from Cania we hit the road at around 6am for our haul up to Proserpine ..... A good run saw us pull into Proserpine bait & tackle mid afternoon (Monday 15th) .... A quick chat with Lindsay Dobe didn't leave us with a lot of confidence with only fair results had during the ABT event & Proserpine Catch & Release Tournament over the previous week ..... We also now had 20knot SE winds to contend with . Gathering some more supplies , ice & beer ...we were soon at Camp Kanga ......! A quick unpack & chat with some others ( incl fellow Ausfisher John) .. allowed us a quick sunset fish ........ We planned to fish the weed beds where we had some success on a previous trip! ... conditions remained blowy & quite cool ........ Once we reached the weed beds ..... the boat kacked itself ( we could not get it to run .... You could have heard the F#%@& ass #$*@ all the way to Cairns ....... So as all serious fishoes would do ...... We dropped over the leccy .... put some lures out & trolled the 4 kms back to the ramp .... in what was a wet & slow run ( no fish though)
    Back at the Kanga a chat with John & a look at his motor all had us in agreement that there was a fuel issue ...... Yep ... The fuel line attachment to the motor was unclipped A quick pump of the fuel bulb & away she went ... " Praise the lord!"
    The next morning had us up at around 4.30am .... A good BBQ breakfast & we were in the water around 5.30 ..... Once again , over to the weed ...... But the dam looked so much different from what I remembered from 2 years earlier ..... The water levels were up from 20% to 34% ..... & I was certainly disorientated So I thought with the increasing wind that a troll was the go while we reacquainted ourselves with the dam ...... We trolled along the timberline towards the dam with out a touch .... On the return I changed from a 3M Classic to a 20ft Brown Killalure River Rat .... Not 2mins later , my Calcutta 400 is loosing 50lb braid at a fair rate ........ I've knocked the boat out of gear & moved to the back of the boat ..... & started to put some hurt on the the fish ....... up it comes a metery + ... The first jump was a cracker ( a very silvery coloured fish) ... Then another jump ........ I felt at that time I had the measure of this fish until I noticed that while we were clear of the main stand of trees , we were in fact drifting quickly past a single bunch of spindly sticks ( THE TOP OF A TREE in 15m of water) ..... I've shouted out to whitey to get on the wheel & head away .... Too late ... I've stated to feel the braid rubbing in the branches .... Then BRICKED! ...... We tried to unwind the fish .... back the pressure off over the next 10 mins ... all to no avail ( we even tried the tackle back) ................... I was spewin.
    Well after that we trolled a little longer before moving into the sticks to cast just about everything we had .... After about 3 hours & lunch Attachment 15075 we moved back out into the main basin due to increasing winds ( & the thought of getting brained by some falling timber) ..... So we trolled for the rest of the day for nothing!
    General discussion around the Camp was that poor results were had due to the SE winds ( Water temps @ 24 Deg ...... We found some shallows in the NE corner that got to 26.2) ... + the pressure over the past week with two tournaments being held on the dam ??? .... So we decided that we would not bother spending the extra day there and move up to our next destination " Lucinda". With the next few days forecast remaining unfavourable .... This was the go! ......... Nagg

Re: Peter Faust ( The Road Trip)

G'Day Chris,
    Was good to meet you and Adrian at Camp Kanga. Pitty about to the fishing through. After i run into you again in town on your way back from Lucinda the conditions continued to be very poor, water temp got as low as 21% and the fish remained uninterested. Lindsay reckoned that they were too busy gobbling up redclaw as any fish landed appeared to be full of them. I managed a few more fish but don't ask about the hours it took to get them.
    Funny thing about this site (forum), not a lot of replies on posts from Faust. Post something on Awoonga, Monduran and there's stacks, perhaps it's just to far away. Mate thats fine as i like piece and quiet, no hassels on the ramp and the other fisho's you run into seem to know their stuff, i will continue to drive past the other two just to get to my beloved Faust Dam.
    Tell me, has the Marlin man stopped talking yet? Hope to run into you both again up there when things are a bit better.

John.
    PS, Keep your fuel hose connected to your motor!

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    G'Day Chris,
    Was good to meet you and Adrian at Camp Kanga. Pitty about to the fishing through. After i run into you again in town on your way back from Lucinda the conditions continued to be very poor, water temp got as low as 21% and the fish remained uninterested. Lindsay reckoned that they were too busy gobbling up redclaw as any fish landed appeared to be full of them. I managed a few more fish but don't ask about the hours it took to get them.
    Funny thing about this site (forum), not a lot of replies on posts from Faust. Post something on Awoonga, Monduran and there's stacks, perhaps it's just to far away. Mate thats fine as i like piece and quiet, no hassels on the ramp and the other fisho's you run into seem to know their stuff, i will continue to drive past the other two just to get to my beloved Faust Dam.
    Tell me, has the Marlin man stopped talking yet? Hope to run into you both again up there when things are a bit better.

John.
    PS, Keep your fuel hose connected to your motor!
    Cheers John ....... It was great to catch up! .. Mate 3 weeks at Faust & you deserve every one of those barra ! Thanks for the chat & advice ... very informative...... & I will apologise for Whitey ( Marlin man) ...... I call him the Caravan Pk TART! ..... he just talks to everyone. I think he has been put off by the 2nd trip up North with so so results ( this time the weather was our problem though) ..... So I will probably look for a new crew member for Oct / Nov 2008 ..... Though Whitey will come up to the SE Qld impoundments in Feb / March 08. Anyway we'll catch up soon ...... Cheers , Chris

you sure put a lot into it Nagg. I'm not sure i'd travel up that far from the border let alone Sydney. I suppose having a bit of time up your sleeve is handy.....road trips are some of the best fun you can have with your pants on.

cheers Roo.

Quote Originally Posted by orbyroo View Post
    you sure put a lot into it Nagg. I'm not sure i'd travel up that far from the border let alone Sydney. I suppose having a bit of time up your sleeve is handy.....road trips are some of the best fun you can have with your pants on.

cheers Roo.
    Mate .... I get an absolute buzz out of organising & doing these trips ( my 3rd). I'm actually organising another for November 2008 but this time a little longer 16 days) ...... Up to Lucinda/Cardwell again ... & with 2 or 3 other boats.
    If I had another keen crew member that could get parole .... I'd do 2 or 3 trips a year ( 1 major) I just love North Qld .... & the impoundment thingy on the way up & back just adds icing to the cake
    I'm pretty sure more people would do it once they experienced it
    Nagg ..... PS I will get up to SE Qld in Feb as well

Mate did you do a report on how Cania was fishing? .... Can't say I saw it.

Any advice on what lures worked and which areas held fish would be greatly appreciated: did you get any bass off the surface?

CT

Good report Nagg, be very interested to see how you go around Lucinda - hope you get a huge fingermark off the jetty or at least get busted up big time At least you can't get bricked in the spindle fishing the jetty

Good luck with the remainder of your trip and safe travels.

Tight lines.

Navi

Quote Originally Posted by 1337 View Post
    Mate did you do a report on how Cania was fishing? .... Can't say I saw it.

Any advice on what lures worked and which areas held fish would be greatly appreciated: did you get any bass off the surface?

CT
    Hi CT ..... Yeh I did a Cania repot ( about 3 weeks ago) ....Just look for the roadrunner ... beep beep ....
    Cania was great lots of 40cm + bass....
    We found most of the fish in upper reaches in shallow water ( we spent very little time in the main basin ...... We really started our fishing beyond the s bends & most fish came from the area where the rockwall is on the right hand side through the narrow bend & beyond ..... Bass minnows in Pumpkin seed worked a treat foe my mate ..... While I caught my fish on Spinnerbaits , Jackalls & chubbies..... Nagg

Half your bloody luck doing a trip like that mate.Sounds like heaps of fun. Ben

Gday mate
    My name is Cory i am a mad keen Barra fisher from the Gold Coast. I have fished the Prossie dam about ten times with no success at all. I hope to get a couple of sessions in early January and wanted to know what you think is my best bet to at least get a few fish smashing my lures? What are some good lures to troll and is it more productive trolling or casting? I have tried both and had no luck. Is it best to fish at night like at Awoonga or is the morning just as good? Do you live in Prossie or just go fishing there?

Quote Originally Posted by coryhargreaves View Post
    Gday mate
    My name is Cory i am a mad keen Barra fisher from the Gold Coast. I have fished the Prossie dam about ten times with no success at all. I hope to get a couple of sessions in early January and wanted to know what you think is my best bet to at least get a few fish smashing my lures? What are some good lures to troll and is it more productive trolling or casting? I have tried both and had no luck. Is it best to fish at night like at Awoonga or is the morning just as good? Do you live in Prossie or just go fishing there?
    Hi Corey ....Not a local ( I'm from Sydney)
    January could be pretty good ( If its hot ) ...... The best bet is to call into Proserpine bait & Tackle .... & have a chat with Lindsay ( good bloke)
    There is a full moon on the 22nd ..... so trolling of an evening along the weed beds & open water could yield results ....... Otherwise work your way into the timber & cast ( most of the well known barra lures would work) ..... Nagg