Thread: Snapper/Reef Rig Idea..your thoughts?

Question Snapper/Reef Rig Idea..your thoughts?

howdy all

I have been thinking of trying a new rig style, well new for me, someone else may already be using it. The rig will be for snapper, bottom-bouncing from a boat over reef/structure.

Off a 20lb mainline down to a single ball-bearing swivel connected to about 1m or so of 40lb leader. About 20cm down from the swivel have a soft plastic connected on a short dropper...then down about 30cm to another dropper with a 5/0 circle hook....ended with a small snapper lead.

What I am thinking is that I can kill two birds with one stone...the SP should bounce around in the current hopefully attracting a fish and the bait..well it's bait, we all know what that does.

What do people think? anyone use a similiar rig?

Mike L.

Re: Snapper/Reef Rig Idea..your thoughts?

So you're trying to use a patternoster with the top hook a plastic and bottom bait?

Should work well and is probably being used extensively by the offshore brigade

Hey mate i have had great success with snapper and pearlys using a paternoster rig with a plastic on the top and bottem hooks it works great because if you get a bite you dont have to wind up and check your bait.

cheers tassie JR

Briefly tried that rig at recent Agnes M&G, plastics got chewed to bits, lasted no longer than bait, think Black Rat went through almost an entire packet of nuc chooks in what seemed like 10 minutes,, ( couldnt been 12) went back to bait.. but they work, plastic was on top dropper

mike
    Tangles KFC

Chuck a 5" Snapback on instead

When I went on Mono's charter, one of the rods was set up with that.....he said the Pearlies love it.

I would use a 5inch or bigger plastic rigged unweighted. Good luck, Sean

I've used it with 5" snapback and then 2 hook gang below with a pillie at hutchies and it works. Have tried a double jighead rig there too and it scored a double hook up. Depends on the day i suppose.

Sweet, will give it a crack!