2 weeks at fraser

Thread: 2 weeks at fraser

2 weeks at fraser

Hi All
    Home from 2 weeks on Fraser and still cleaning up. Got out in the boat 6 times with a few good days and a few slow ones. Day one we went north with 15nk –ne in our face on the way up. Lost a few good fish to sharks first spot .We moved around from spot to spot with only a few fish been landed. At 12am the wind got up 20nk from the north so back to the beach. The next few trip were south with some go fish landed on most days. Only a few small reds but the Pearlies made up for that. The best pearly went 5.4kg with a few not far behind. I got my best trout at 6.3kg. Most days there were good shows of bait with fish around them but the bit was very slow, just the odd fish here and there and then they would go off for an hour and shout down again.
    When the boat was not in the water we hit the beach. The tailor were there as we could see them in the water at the back of the gutter but they were not on the bit. In 11 years of going to Fraser I have not see the tailor so slow. The few we did land were of good size, up to 3.1kg.
    Dwane

Re: 2 weeks at fraser

a few more picks,

Your missus has a ripper Pearly there mate well done!

Looks like use had a ripper of a trip with some ripper weather. great fish you's have there.

cheers tassie JR

Love the size of those pearlies havn't seen them that big in a while

Some quality fish there mate well done!! Cheers PBass

Hey
    Great Fish
    Id... Please On The Fish Between The Red And The Pearly On The Top Line

Cheers Russo

hI block that looks a maori sea bream isnt it.

Well done Dwayne. Some nice fsh there. If the weather is ok I'll be heading upto 1770 early next week. Fingers crossed the reds are still around.

RUSSSO
    I belive that the fish is a maori sea bream .
    what is your old man up to, is he up at 1770 living on fish?? looks like you may get some good weather, how long are you going for?

Block

Great report. We're heading up there end of next week for some beach
    fishing chasing tailor and whiting etc around Orchid and Wathumba.

Can you advise if there was any weed along the beaches.

Much appreciated.

Raddish

Quote Originally Posted by Raddish View Post
    Block

Great report. We're heading up there end of next week for some beach
    fishing chasing tailor and whiting etc around Orchid and Wathumba.

Can you advise if there was any weed along the beaches.

Much appreciated.

Raddish
    The weed would be in one day and not the next so you go down each day and have a look and if the weed is in there is all was beer.
    We got a nice feed of whiting at Wathumba when it was to windy to fish for tailor. best of luck.
    Dwane

Some great fish there Dwane.
    Looks like you got some qaulity and those pearlies are stonkers mate. Did you get the pearlies on the shelf?
    Speak to you soon.

top effort!! that pearly's a gooden

where abouts where you fishing offshore mate ? Banks ?