-
Re: Need help for new rods and reels
G'day again Barry,
I thought I'd mention the Rapala Braid Concept. I've got a 6-12kg 7ft I use for snapper in 60mts plus with plastics...absolutely beautiful for that style of work. Not sure if they would have a 2-4 but reckon it would be worth checking out if they do.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
For your bream/flatty combo I would reccomend getting a 2000 Sol and a loomis GL2 dsr820s. This will be a bit more than $500 but you can also use it for light squire work. Spool it up with 4lb and 10lb braid and that would be a sweet combo.
-
A 2500 daiwa is fine for larger lures/heavier line class but will not balance properly with your regular 2-4kg spin sticks making it harder and more fatiguing to use. Trying to cover multiple bases with lure casting tackle should be avoided at all costs in my opinion. However i tend to like to fish the max line class a rod is capable of handling (for a 2-4kg rod i run 3 or 4kg line) so if something more challenging does hop on you have a bit of grunt to fall back on. If you want a light outfit and a mid weight outfit then buy two rods and two reels. I hate the idea of having to change over rods and spools if i want to fish a heavier line class, i take an outfit for each situation i am likely to cover in a days fishing. For example a day out on the bay i'll take a 6lb and a 10lb outfit for flicking rubbers at bream and reefies and a 15lb and 20lb outfit for spinning for tuna and mackeral. This way i have a light line class for each application and a heavier back up rod. It also means that if i have problems with a rod out on the water then i can just retire it for the day and pick up the next one. This is particularly good in spottie season when all 4 rods are rigged with a slug so if i'm bitten off i can grab another rod straight away and get straight back into them.
-
Ausfish Addict
If my budget was $500 / outfit ....... I'd look at the Nitro range of rods ( low $200) matched with Daiwa Sols ...... & for a baitcaster .... spend a little more & buy a Daiwa Zillion & match it with another Nitro
The Nitros are a well made (locally designed rod ... IM8 Graphite ,,,, made in China) .... 2 piece & have a great warranty ( They replace either section for $60) ..... Nagg
PS ..... With the $A on the up ...... You could look at bringing reels like the Daiwa Certates out of Japan .... for only a few bucks more than the Sols.
Last edited by NAGG; 28-10-2007 at 02:03 PM.
-
Thanks heaps guys for all your help, i'm going to run with the Daiwa Sol 2000 model can pick one up for $289 New at the local tackle shop. In fact i might actually grab 2 and pass on the rods as i have a shimano backbone elite 2-4kg and a berkley dropshot 2-4kg and that way i can match up rod and reel, as it is i've got an ebay reel a sunday 4000 (a bit big but 12 ball bearings and has been a great reel for $30) on one and a crappy Shimano Aernos 2500 (which i think is just the crappest reel for $70 i ever spent) on the other. This way i can rig up one spool on each with 4 & 6lb for bream or flathead and on the other spool 12 &15lb braid for snapper.
Cheers and a big thankyou to everyone who has provided input for me it is extremely appreciated to all and now i also have the heads up when i get some more cash for a new rod
Cheers again
Barry