Has Lake MacDonald Recovered yeat ??

Thread: Has Lake MacDonald Recovered yeat ??

Has Lake MacDonald Recovered yeat ??

Has anyone fished Lake MacDonald since it flooded back in early September ??
    I haven't heard of anyone catching bass or even fishing there for no results ??

Re: Has Lake MacDonald Recovered yeat ??

Hey Paul,

Think it's cactus mate. I've been out a couple of times in the past few weeks, and cannot find fish. Covered pretty much all the water from bass bay, gazebo, the flats, all thru the 3 ways, and the arm that runs down towards my place, and the only fish shows I found were a couple of scattered fish in bass bay. So the only spots I haven't sussed are the bubbler/main basin, botanicals and borer and other far reaches. Had 1 surface hit and caught a nice Yella of all things. So things are looking pretty grim mate. Think we're in for a long recovery period. On the bright side, should get me off my lazy arse and fishing some other spots.

Cheers mate

Son and his mate spe4nt most of Monday there and didnt raise a scale using hardbodies and soft plastics. Very few fish on sounder but saw a nice sara in the lily pads.
    I was there a fortnight ago and got one bass about 35cm with severe dorsal fin rot. Seems to be really shut down.
    Would recommend somewhere else for a while. Maybe baroon Pocket.
    Ray

All those big fish gone over the spillway....BUGGER!

herd today that there was a fish kill there today. Not good due to lack of oxygen in the water, seems weird with the bubbler in the middle and the amount of lillies? I hope the water will bounce back it a great fishery.

Yeah I heard the same...

Fish Kill at Lake Macdonald.....over 150 dead fish found floating.
    They are putting it down to low oxygen levels.

Just saw it on the local news, was in the little pond below the spillway. They wanna try and net the remaining live ones and put them back in the lake.

there was a fish kill below the spillway due to low oxy levels, saw many large bass and a few cod. i will try and get some info from one of the blokes from the hatchery as to whether or not any fish survived.
    ANGLER NOT DANGLER

The fish kill was below the wall as previously stated.
    The council guys went out there and bagged about 102 dead bass !!
    Then netted the area from to the bridge, caught 28 bass 1 very big lungfish and possibly 1 cod ( they wouldn't say whether they caught the cod or not ?? )
    then they transported them back above the wall and released them.
    As a member of the stocking group we were happy with this as at least they now have a chance !! But several people have been seen throughing cast nets around this area ( what for I don't know ) BUT at present it is illegal to fish this area.
    what do people think about the restricted areas below spillways ??

Quote Originally Posted by Bud-dy View Post
    The fish kill was below the wall as previously stated.
    The council guys went out there and bagged about 102 dead bass !!
    Then netted the area from to the bridge, caught 28 bass 1 very big lungfish and possibly 1 cod ( they wouldn't say whether they caught the cod or not ?? )
    then they transported them back above the wall and released them.
    As a member of the stocking group we were happy with this as at least they now have a chance !! But several people have been seen throughing cast nets around this area ( what for I don't know ) BUT at present it is illegal to fish this area.
    what do people think about the restricted areas below spillways ??
    Hey paul,

I heard there were guys throwing cast nets there also....Why?
    Well most of the feral types I have seen down there arrive in there utes with ice boxes on the back of them.....I dare say they go home with more than 2 bass a day..... ....Does anyone from fisheries ever go down there...???

See you on Saturday...
    and get some sleep will you.....

My wife and I fished at the Lake again on Sunday (21/10/07) again for no fish I did however notice on the sounders that there were a number of stating to re-appear in there usual haunts so heres hoping it may start to pick up shortly.
    a couple of other people fly fished there for a couple of bumps but no fish.