Thread: Awoonga Barra!!!!!!

Awoonga Barra!!!!!!

Headed out for a arvo fish at Awoonga with the weather magic and the water temp high decided to find some new spots. Found a nice weed bed on a rise from 6m to 2m. Held into what wind there was and fished over the weed bed. Within 10mins Dad was on to the first barra this fella not a bad fish going 86cm. The very next cast Dad was on again this barra a upgrade from the last but not huge fish, 93cm. You would not think that the very next cast Dad would be on again but he was and this fish was a beuty, with a couple of head shakes this fish was hooked well and trooly. after a 20 min arm wressle he was landed this fella went 112cm and was every bit muscle. Well Dad got his hatrick and I got not one hit. Decided to get home before dark. Was a awsome session and will be surely back out there soon this week.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

Re: Awoonga Barra!!!!!!

Nice effort mate!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Isnt it better than just layin around at home.
    Its always nice to find new spots that work.
    Keep up the top stuff mate.

Great session Plastic, my mate has been on the lake all day without a hit! I'll be joining him on the weekend but I probably should join up with you! Can you tell us what lure your dad was using? Are you still on those new slick rigs?

Great report mate. Maybe next time leave dad at home!!!! Good to see you had a fun fishing session. Thanks for the update.

Cheers L&K

Quote Originally Posted by SeekingBarradise View Post
    Great report mate. Maybe next time leave dad at home!!!! Good to see you had a fun fishing session. Thanks for the update.

Cheers L&K
    Im thinking the other way keep taking Dad he seems to be Mr lucky on the boat, nice fish though just my thoughts, Cheers Whitto
    Last edited by Whitto; 17-10-2007 at 03:14 PM.

Great report well done fellas

Awoonga always produces good fish if you know how to fish it good work mate! and good report! Cheers Chris

Gotta love that action. We know Awoonga is famous for doing that sort of stff. We are up there on Saturday and the days are sooo looong waiting to leave. Was your weed bed on the edge of the lake or did you find the barra on the sounder and thought they were over weed?
    Well
    Done

Hey All thanks for the replys.

Just to let yous now the fish were caught in 26.5 dgrees of water.

Basskid- any fishing beats laying around at home.

rc@hinze- Mate all fish caught on the new drop bear slick rigs.

Seeking Barradise- Hey lyn and kel how yous going how did you go at comps. Yeh have to leave him home but is about time he caught a few. Pm me the dates you up next will have to get out and have a fish.

eotbmg- the fish were hanging in a weed bed 2m under the surface in the middle of a bay found the weed bed on sounder as we were sneeking in with the electric to another spot in the same bay.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

Well done Loch. Good to see you both out there. Haven't had a barra fish yet but will happen real soon. A big g'day to Pup and your turn next time.
    Cheers Lucas