Sinker problem

Thread: Sinker problem

Sinker problem

I have noticed a white power forming on my sinkers does any one know what could be causeing this ,they are stored in a ply box .

Re: Sinker problem

Yeah Dave they are oxidising, when I used to spearfish and was near popular rockfishing spots I would look for the bright white oxidised sinkers on and along the crags of rocks and fill my wetsuit up with them never had to buy a sinker for years! Could get a Kilo or more in half an hour or so at some spots. The holes were always blocked with sand though and needed drilling out or punching.

What have you got the sinkers strung on there?? If it is a dissimilar wire you will have the results of electrolysis. I have at times had similar occurences in my tackle box and 99% of the time i have found a swivel has made its way into the same partition and they have copped a bit of spray or wetness from some source or other, thereby entertaining the circuit for electrolysis. Makes no difference to the lead whatsoever tho, being a very very stable elementary metal.

I agree with Jack, you have a bit of electrolysis going on. It's happened to me before, nothing to worry about. it is the same sort of reaction to steel rusting. However the process takes much longer and only the surface of the lead will oxidise, not the whole sinker

Owen

i have the sinkers on gal wire and s/s wire , but also what iam worried about is where it sits on the ally floor it to has started to oxidize around the box ,the box sits under cover and only gets wet with fresh water. Also the box has a rubber mat under it and where it has been touching the floor there is no oxidizing just around the box .

Dave, If there is a wet medium between the sinkers and the ally you will have electrolysis occuring. The further they are separated the less the effect of electrolysis will be. If the sinker were touching the ally or worse yet the brass of a swivel you will have serious electrolysis in the making.

Also your timber box....does it have any nails in the floor of it?? that could well be a serious conductor between the ally and the sinkers inside the damp box.

ive found, with sinkers i've made some do it, and some dont.
    agree with all the electrolysis comments, but i find more than not its got to do with the lead when its cast. ie, poor quality lead has heaps of impurities, thats the crap on the top of the pot when you boil it. the more, impurities, seems to me, any way, the more chance they go "white"
    you also have the option of going fishing more and using em up!!!!!!!
    maybe a line to use on the missus anyway!!!!!

Jack
    i think you are right the box has s/s screws holding the floor in it and also the dividers have s/s screws .there are no swivels in the box but i noticed that the wire on the ball sinkers has gone rusty . what would you do for a box to hold sinkers in ,it also acts as a foot rest ,remove all screws and glass the out side of the box .

I would probably silicone a rubber pad on the bottom of your box being sure to fully encase the stainless screws with silicone to break that electrolysis route.

Jack
    thanks for your advice i will do as you have said and keep a close eye on this problem

No worries Dave, Good luck mate.

Lippa
    i reckon your right about the lead, for memory the sinkers i made witch are the ones going white was made form lead that looked of not good quality [old toilet elbows ].i have some better lead so i will make some new ones and see how they go .told the missus that they need to used up quickly here reply was where could you use them up, i said i would need to go back to 1770 for 2 weeks okay then

Oxidisation is my guess. Scrape it off and you have the base for making white lead paint. Just joking about trying that - it is not safe. If it is oxidised lead then it might be best to be careful in handling sinkers showing a coating of white. It is toxic and easily ingested. Wash hands thoroughly after use. Wearing disposable gloves might be a better option.