Monduran 11/10/07

Thread: Monduran 11/10/07

Monduran 11/10/07

Thought it would be a better option to go to Monduran before the Weekend Comp, cast our arms off with no luck at all, its a pity Barra don't eat Catties , anyhow resorted to trolling and picked a couple of meteries, the first went 1.03 and the second was 1.10 , Im sure as hell not complaining, anyhow good luck to those that are venturing up to Monduran in the future, Cheers Whitto

Re: Monduran 11/10/07

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    Thought it would be a better option to go to Monduran before the Weekend Comp, cast our arms off with no luck at all, its a pity Barra don't eat Catties , anyhow resorted to trolling and picked a couple of meteries, the first went 1.03 and the second was 1.10 , Im sure as hell not complaining, anyhow good luck to those that are venturing up to Monduran in the future, Cheers Whitto

Hi whitto heading to monduran i a weeks time 21st is the first day im there what lures did ya troll be good to know so ican have a chance of slaying a barra i hope

G'Day nipsta, Reidys B52 in gold did the damage, if u coming from the south call in to Foxies at Gin Gin and say Hello to John and Jacky, Have a good trip and hope u catch a few, Cheers Whitto

its a pity Barra don't eat Catties
    Whitto
    Barra eat catties mate, no probs at all.
    Jas

well done whitto, getting really amped I will be there in less then a month

Good fish Whitto. Great feeling getting the big girls in
    Tanglefoot

G'Day nipsta, Reidys B52 in gold did the damage, if u coming from the south call in to Foxies at Gin Gin and say Hello to John and Jacky, Have a good trip and hope u catch a few, Cheers Whitto

thanks whitto i will do that for sure stop and see john and jacky no probs and i say it will be a good trip as im not at work an thats a good thing

Quote Originally Posted by the_matrix View Post
    Jas

well if i cant get one on lure i put a cattie on a 6/0 and hope he gets eaten

Quote Originally Posted by the_matrix View Post
    Jas
    Thanks Jas I did not know that, In that case I wished they ate more of them, Cheers Whitto

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Hey whitto,

Great fish mate. Good to see you got onto them. Guess you will be back upto get into them again one day now!!

Trolling the basin seemed to be the way the bigger fish were caught in the comp yesterday and today. Admittedly there were about 70-80 boats trolling around the basin!!!! I was something to see!!

Great fishing again greg

cheers steve

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Hey whitto,

Great fish mate. Good to see you got onto them. Guess you will be back upto get into them again one day now!!

Trolling the basin seemed to be the way the bigger fish were caught in the comp yesterday and today. Admittedly there were about 70-80 boats trolling around the basin!!!! I was something to see!!

Great fishing again greg

cheers steve
    how did you go in the comp steve and was there any big fish caught and did they say just the shallow lures where working on the troll of deeper lures as well

Hey whitto,

Great fishing again greg

cheers steve
    G'Day Steve, We took a trip into GG on Wednesday, U looked to be locked up we figured u were on Fatigue so left it at that, Said hello to John and Jacky and headed back to camp, Bloody Storms it did cool things down a bit though, Very happy with the Barra, all in the basin where the hot water is, Great trip for me my mate had nothing but bad luck all week, Cheers Whitto

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Nipsta,

I did OK but not good enough to win anything. I landed 4 barra on sat arvo on the shallows up the top of the dam when we finally managed to find some warmer water and that annoying SW wind died down a bit. They ranged from 65cm to 85cm. My mate Chris nailed a 98cm with about 5 min to go in the arvo. It was his first monduran barra so he was stoked. He was getting cranky earlier because he was catching massive catties and no barra!! but his luck changed for the better. Got nothing sunday.

So we boated 5 fish out of 40 odd fish weighed in saturday which isnt bad odds I spose. Had a great time, played up till 2.30 fri night which didnt help!!

Whitto, I have been on paternity leave (yes, the QAS give blokes a whole week off to help with the new bub). We had a little boy 2 weeks ago , 5 weeks premmy. He is going strong and got home last tuesday. I worked up enough brownie points to be allowed to fish the comp!! plus I had the mother in law at home, good enough reason to get out and fish I reckon!!!

cheers steve

Nipsta,

I did OK but not good enough to win anything. I landed 4 barra on sat arvo on the shallows up the top of the dam when we finally managed to find some warmer water and that annoying SW wind died down a bit. They ranged from 65cm to 85cm. My mate Chris nailed a 98cm with about 5 min to go in the arvo. It was his first monduran barra so he was stoked. He was getting cranky earlier because he was catching massive catties and no barra!! but his luck changed for the better. Got nothing sunday.

So we boated 5 fish out of 40 odd fish weighed in saturday which isnt bad odds I spose. Had a great time, played up till 2.30 fri night which didnt help!!

Whitto, I have been on paternity leave (yes, the QAS give blokes a whole week off to help with the new bub). We had a little boy 2 weeks ago , 5 weeks premmy. He is going strong and got home last tuesday. I worked up enough brownie points to be allowed to fish the comp!! plus I had the mother in law at home, good enough reason to get out and fish I reckon!!!

cheers steve
    sounds like it was a good weekend hope the barra play the game when i get there so igather the fish where all up the back end of the dam near the river area that a far boat trip thats ok got plenty of time to enjoy it what where they hitting ya on just out of curiousity

Nipsta,

cheers steve
    Damn straight Steve, Congratulations on the new Bub give mother a kiss for me on a job well done, Paternity leave there's one I didn't know about, of course my youngest is 26years old, again congrats and will catch up down the track, Cheers Whitto