Thread: Need info on Seafarer

Question Need info on Seafarer

I'v been looking at getting a boat for sometime time now and a friend of my fathers has a Seafarer 4.75 C-V with 70hp Mercury (year model ???) who has owned for approx 9yrs and pad $10500 and looks what i think in good condition, he has also mentioned that has never had an issue with the motor or boat since he has had the boat.
    He has made an offer for $5k.
    I have seen searching for anything on this boat and cant seem to find much info.....

*Is this a good offer...is this a good boat for a first timer...I have a Commo Ute VS will this be enough to tow...what do I need to look at or check?

Can some help and advise on what to do and where can i get more info on this boat.......thanks!

Re: Need info on Seafarer

If it is in good nick I think that 5k for a VC is good buying.
    I have the bigger brother to this rig and am totalyy happy with it.

It will be a good sea boat and will give a first timer plenty of confidence.

Myles-1 Matey if it is in good nick it is a steal for 5 grand. They are an excellent seaworthy boat, will go well with a 70hp pushing it. I have had one for 4 yrs,fishing offshore,skiing and wakeboarding no probs. I have just spent 8 grand doing mine up and put it on the market and have had heaps of enquires,as they are hard to find in god nick. Just check transom, as they did have a tendacy to be soft, or over powered in there early life. Polky Your ute will have no probs towing boat.

Quote Originally Posted by Myles_1 View Post
    ...I have a Commo Ute VS will this be enough to tow...what do I need to look at or check? ..
    Legally the trailer will probably require brakes on the trailer as the complete package would probably go over 750kg.

Just make sure your towbar on the ute has a rating of around 1000kg or more (i doubt the boat would go over that) If its a auto, check you have a transmission cooler installed.

70hp was basically the standard power that most had fitted.

Rod

I dont know if the V-Sea is the same as the Vagabond from the 70s but the transom of my Vagabond only has wood in it in that foot or so where the engine sits and the remainder is wood free and is probably close to one cm of solid glass! Ie in mine at least a bit of soft is not a problem - as confirmed by Lindsay Fry (owner of Seafarer) and a well known Marine Surveyor. Im not saying the V-Sea is the same, but one test is to kick the leg out and hang off it and get a trusted mate to see if there is any flex in the transom - if none then I wouldnt worry (just my opinion of course) - other might I dont know.

hi miles 1. a very popular outfit southcoast of n.s.w. fished out of them in pretty lousy seas, & no worries. owned a viking for over 30 years, they are both a very good sea boat, possibly the best small boat on the market, $5000 , go for it. ps. a lot of guys overloaded with to big a motor, a 70 hp is fine, cheers, kevy.