A nice size GT saves the day.....09-10-07

Thread: A nice size GT saves the day.....09-10-07

A nice size GT saves the day.....09-10-07

Went for a throw this afternoon in the river landbased.....
    Found it tough going at some of the regular spots with boats,dogs jumping in the water and swimmers.....The river still seems very busy....
    First started throwing poppers across some sand flats to see if I could nail another whiting but was no go.....
    Moved across to Munna bridge to a spot where I saw a nice diamond trevally get caught the day before.....But still couldnt get a hit.....
    The afternoon wasnt looking good so I moved to a sneaky little spot that has caught me some good fish before.
    Worked the ever faithfull rapala skitterpop across the surface and second cast....BOOF... ....Line absolutely screamed off in what was one of the best fights I have had from the trevally in the river.
    The fish swum with the incoming tide and was very hard to turn on the light gear.
    Turned out to be a good size GT for the river.

Last edited by Pistol_P; 09-10-2007 at 08:39 PM.

Re: A nice size GT saves the day.....09-10-07

Nice GT Pete. I still love reading these Trevally reports so keep them coming!

Any ideas on what lb line you were using tho?

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

That is a good sized GT Pete, well done.
    I ended up with only the one Tailor at 40cm. Had quite a few follows and touches from Trevors and Queenies but they didn't seem real hungry.

Cheers Jeff.

Great fish mate, love the trevors. Did he give a few grunts when you got him out of the water?
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Tazza......6lb braid.....10lb leader.

Joel.....Yeah he had a few grunts.....I grunted back....

Pete.

that is a great size fish mate, i wouldn't of though fish like that would be caught from that stretch of area. if its where im thinking, the spare block of land along there a very good friend was the previous owner.

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

great size trev pete,would have fun on that gear.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

you bugga im not talking to you haha its not fair boo hoo, you get all the trevs, sob sob. ya going to leave any 4 me sob sob hahaha on ya mate. i wish that was on my sol and i was there with ya, lucky bugga
    figjam :wink:

hay pete you got them popers at work in that colour, i think i need one haha

Hey Pete,
    Once Again great report and it seems like you get to fish when you want. hahaha i have been saving money from not getting a haircut to fix my tinny so i can go chase some crazy bream. Maybe see you up there.
    Great report Mate.

Quote Originally Posted by nuggstar View Post
    hay pete you got them popers at work in that colour, i think i need one haha
    That popper (rapala skitterpop lime frog) has caught me heaps of fish hey...
    Jacks love them too!!.......Yes we have them......Be quick I might buy myself another....

nice fish i reckon 3kg . and that spot looks good didnt know it was easily accessible by land ...

i know i have seen all the pics with it hanging out of manny fishes mouths

do you shave the bottem of the popper's cup face, i hurd if ya do that to the skitta pops they spit more water

That's a cracker, well done!