Thread: What hits big in the Logan?

What hits big in the Logan?

I was fishing the Logan River on the outgoing tide mid morning on Saturday just downstream from Aggeston sands in a deep channel near the northern bank.

Had out a lightly weighted 20cm live mullet on 20lb braid with a 20lb leader. Something hit it like a steam train and peeled off line at a prodigous rate. Before I could set the hook the braid line snapped like cotton wool!

I've caught big sharks, rays, pike eels and flathead in the Logan before but nothing has ever hit me with the power of that strike. My thoughts were either a good size Mangrove Jack or a Jew.

Any thoughts?

Re: What hits big in the Logan?

Sounds like one helluva jack!
    I would be thinking a bull shark or maybe a jewie

you might have gotten onto a Brisbane River Marlin......
    A bit out of it's usual hunting ground.....

Bull shark mate, not a jack imo. Could of been a jew though.

Guys,

I've caught a heap of sharks in the Logan and I know their bite/strike. Believe me, this was not a bull shark. I have never caught a jack or a jew so my best guess is a jew (due to the ease of snapping 20lb braid.

Thanks for your input though!

I reckon outside chance of a big jew. my main guess would be a shark, namely a hammerhead. they take off like lightning, moreso than bulls. Then again, it may have also been a very big bull. Either way a shame she did you over mate...next time!

cuzza
    Last edited by cuzzamundi; 08-10-2007 at 03:07 PM.

I've caught a heap of sharks in the Logan and I know their bite/strike. Believe me, this was not a bull shark. I have never caught a jack or a jew

They get some big Sharks in this system and they would go like hell. Jewies usually play around a bit more. So I still say shark.

I would be dumbfounded if a jew ever hit like you described. I've caught a quite a few decent ones and a couple of big ones and not one has hit as you described.
    Jack.......possible but unlikely as i havent seen a jack run for a long distance yet.
    Shark would be most likely esp if it was foul hooked near the tail as occasionally happens. they go like hell on fire when foul hooked in the tail. Hammerhead is also a very good possibility too.
    The only other thing that it could be is a jetskier, but they tend to be quite difficult to get to take a live mullet tho, still trying to find the perfect bait so i can go and cull a few of these things out of our waterways. Bloody introduced VERMIN.

Either a big jew or a shark. The jew we lost the other weekend smacked like a freight train, no playing, just straight out suck and run! My mate and i both had that called for a shark till it swam past the torch.

Good input gentlemen. Looks like a big shark is the most likely verdict.

Jack - for many years I have been searching for ways to rid our estuaries and bay of the jetski vermin. These poor unfortunate creatures have limited pleasure centres, low IQs and an inate ability to crowd other species on the water. Perhaps we could approach the State Government for a 'final solution'?.

Probably a Barra! lol

There was a bloke down there that played footy as a front rower.... We were in a pub & a guy annoyed him.... He certainly hit very hard!

(he he he he)

Hey mate, just reread your post, if it snapped the line before you had time to strike then it was almost definately a shark. Either the tails or body have rubbed the main line or it has completely swallowed the leader as well!

Quote Originally Posted by shayned View Post
    Probably a Barra! lol
    Now I know what their strikes are like!

See my avatar and gallery!

Its a hard call. Id guess big jack.

Tell us more about how the braid broke. 20lb braid should hold a lot of fish with correct drag settings.

Do you think you were rubbed off on structure, or bitten thru the braid?

Ive had similar bite offs in the seaway, where the line just snaps without much rod bend, and you think 'what the hell was that?'.
    Time to up the leader size.