Mitsubishi Challenger, Yay or Nay

Thread: Mitsubishi Challenger, Yay or Nay

Mitsubishi Challenger, Yay or Nay

Just looking at an 2002 model atm. Just curious as to the beach performance of these rigs. Dont do a whole lot of beach work but for the odd time I do i would like something thats gona get me home. So im just after any good or bad reports from anyone out there.
    En el amor y la guerra, todo hueco es trinchera.

Re: Mitsubishi Challenger, Yay or Nay

A good friend has one and has had it for about 4 years he loves it and tows a 5mtr boat regulary with it he has had no dramas.Dunno about beachwork never done any in it mate.Dan..........

The challengers are on a triton chassis and running gear so the turning cycle arent the best, But apart form that there not a bad rig.
    Beach running has allot to do with things like auto/ manual, diesel/pertrol. But it should be ok as i think most of the challengers have LSD (but i could be wrong)

neil

A mate from work has had one for over5 years and I have never heard a bad word about it. Good on the beach but a bit limited in the offroad rough stuff area due to the type of suspension. After all its not a Landrover but still pretty capable and drives nicely onroad

Cheers guys, I appreciate the feedback.

Ryan,

I have a 2003 Challenger and use it to tow my boat and to beach drive North Straddie about three times a year. It has been a great beach vehicle (never bogged) and the 3 litre V6 has no problem towing my 4m boat at 100kmph on the highway up to Monduran.

I would upgrade to a new one but Mitsubishi stopped making them in 2006!

Reasonable fuel economy

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post
    Ryan,

I have a 2003 Challenger and use it to tow my boat and to beach drive North Straddie about three times a year. It has been a great beach vehicle (never bogged) and the 3 litre V6 has no problem towing my 4m boat at 100kmph on the highway up to Monduran.

I would upgrade to a new one but Mitsubishi stopped making them in 2006!

Reasonable fuel economy
    They what!!!! stopped making them....... What are Mitsubishi thinking There be lots of challengers around but hardly any of those little 4cyl Pajero's IO's and such they keep making them funny little toys.

I agree with Roughasguts - a lot of Challenger owners will not be happy.

They are a much better vehicle than the Pajero IO and you see heaps of them on the road. Mitsubishi have upgraded the AWD outlander to a 4WD as a replacement but - in my opinion - the old Challenger is a much better looking vehicle than the new outlander.

Hi,

I work a Mitsu dealer and the Challenger was discontinued due to a platform change to Triton (ie chasis,suspention and driveline)the Challenger is not bad on the beach have done a couple of owner training days in service managers old one around DI/Rainbow Beach area they do alright. Have had customers complain of clutch shudders in manual and have had a couple of autos seize when towing caravans and horse floats but fitting a good aftermarket trans cooler seems to have fixed that also the $2000 transmission helped.

PS The IO was canned due to the introdution of the Outlander

My wife's got one. 3ltr v6 goes good on the beach we take it to Fraser every year no probs.

Mate I have a friend who is thinking of selling his - he is Brisbane based

Russell
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Mate have a 2002 man for sale at consign a car Mt Gravatt top unit 86ks

Had one for a few years now and couldn't be happier. Go the auto, great on the beach. Also the manuals seem to lack space to put your left hoof when not on the clutch.

Thanks guys, wont trouble you for pics of the Challenger yet boys as i still have to sell my hilux before i can buy. Sounds like a good vehichle huh. All good reviews is rare.

Had A 2002 Auto Model For 18 Months Now, Great Car For The Missus To Drive Aruond In, Not To Thirsty. Been Over To Straddie At Least Half A Dozen Times. Tows The Camper Trailer Over The Soft Stuff No Worries. Couldnt Be Happier With It