Thread: Scored a few big tarpon

Scored a few big tarpon

Went for a flick late this arvo and found some tarpon feeding.Threw bibbed minnows,plastics,poppers and wobblers at them for zip not interested. Remembered that i had a few home made flies that i tied onto some jigheads in the box and got instant results.Ended up scoring 5 big tarpon on the 2 kilo, heaps of fun.Ben

Re: Scored a few big tarpon

Good fun those tarpon Ben. Did you score your tarpon in the upper reaches of a river / creek or down near the mouth?
    I scored a heap of good ones right up at the brackish water limits in a local waterway a few months ago just before the last rains.

spot on Jack up near the very limits of the salt.

um would this be down south mate?

thats a really good efort

nice catch mate,would have been fun hey?
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

great fish, nice pics too

Between brissie and the goldy loophole.Went back down this arvo armed with the fly rod.Haven't used it for a few years now.Found to my surprise i was still able to cast it.Tied on a fly i tied even longer ago and scored a couple of tailor biggest 48.Good to get back into waving the long wand and score a couple of fish straight off the bat.Ben

awsome fish. that the biggest tarpon iv'e ever seen in qld
    figjam :wink:

Great stuff Ben

Those tarpon really are great fighters especially with all their aerobatics.