have had similar experience on same charter,
new operatator coming to the area soon with experienced skipper and great boat.
have had similar experience on same charter,
new operatator coming to the area soon with experienced skipper and great boat.
Sounds like fraud to me. You specified the terms and conditions, the owner agrees, He admits his operator was delinquent, other detail is really irrelevant on who called it - the terms and conditions were not met because of a delinquent operator, and the owner has the hide to offer a 1/3 refund - you're kidding...go get 'em Barry! We can all do without that!
I've been on the same charter. I wasn't super impressed with the amount of travel time between marks. Especially when I was told he had over 1500 marks. Some marks were a 4 hour steam doing 8 knots. That's fishing though. I went on the Keeley Rose a couple of months before and had an awesome day. Ed worked super hard and we returned with a half-full esky (which is plenty). Ed said that it was the worst haul he'd had in 6 months. I would love to go out on a good day. The best come-back is to vent your spleen on Ausfish. Ed wins hands down for me
Cheers Benny
G'day Barry,
After chatting to you on the phone, I've been looking to see if you were posting it up.
Glad to hear you got a partial refund.
Not long now to your Charter down at Wooli.
Keen to hear your results for that one as I'm organising a crew to head down there for a couple of days in late Oct/Early Nov.
Cheers mate,
Craigie.
Craigie
Will be heading to Wooli on Sunday for two separate days of Fishing on Monday and Tuesday. John the Charter operator is a good bloke and knows where to get a good feed of snapper and Jew.
Will give a report on this trip when I get back on Wednesday if I am not buggered from cleaning fish.
Barry
I think there are a lot of details that are not being given up. In another post you have mentioned that the un named vessle is "awkward" in certain conditions.
Because other vessles headed out to the grounds doesnt mean that the vessle you were on was suited to proceed to the desired grounds.
The fact that you decided to pull the pin at the offer of a refund to be determined latter would indicate that the skipper was not confortable with conditions. They dont just give up their income lightly even with upset customers.
You have alluded to the fact that you have many years experience chartering boats, i would assume that never have you had anything in writing from the operator stating that this is where you WILL fish (advertising would not cover this point) and as such the decision is ALWAYS determined by the weather and the skipper on the day. Over night trips can be influenced by the forcasts for the days immeadiatly following the days of your charter. Local knowledge could be the difference of getting caught out in crap that has come in early.
With out disclosing all the details re weather, currents boat condition etc no one on the site can judge wether or not the decision not to power to the spot was justified. (at the time you were sleeping and as such you may not have been privy to some of the factors)
There is little to no chance that you could take the matter further in the courts, unless of course there was insufficent certification on th eskipper and crews behalf for operating such a charter.
The 1/3 refund is probably as good as you willl get and doing what you have (posting about it) is probably all you can do to alert others. Dropping the name on the public forum could get yourself in a bit of hot water if the reasons for modifying the trip where found to be justified.
I could only suggest staying with the last acceptable operator you used.
Just my opinion, not trying to cross examine just pointing out that there are a multitude of factors that need to be taken aboard when at sea, and more so when taking out clients.
Out him !
The only way this bloke - and other less scrupulous charter operators can stay in business is by hiding behind legal 'skirts'. If he'd done a gecent job (ie. just what you paid for), you'd be singing his praises all over these boards and he'd be making more money...
You should be able to recount facts with no fear of legal liability anyway (we paid 'X' dollars, and caught 'X' fish) Anyone who has ever wet a line would be able to see whether the investment was worth it or not.
yeah guys what is the name of this charter so we dont get caught out????
dww13, other than giving up the operators name (which is totally up to him) I think that he has provided more than sufficient info to detirmine he got a raw deal. Light winds???? what charter boat capable of taking 8 people out wide couldn't handle "light winds"? The skipper (from our info so far) didn't state he didnt go to the disired location due to bad weather so why are you bringing this into the equation?
Cheers Chris
Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.
original poster has said he can't name the operator......i'm sure he's not the only one who knows the name, someone else name him!
I also think that light NW winds should be fine for any boat surveyed for 8 overnight, infact a displacement boats only reel issue with the sea up there should be the BAR and he wasn't worried obout crossing that. Kealy rose that was out at the same time is a sub 6m platey and Ed the skipper is far from a risk taker, if he was out both days it would have been a very good forcast!
Ps Did Ian get any of Phantom's gear back?
Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!
In response to nightmare charter by dayyoo(aka,barry day), what a two faced unit he is, as well as displaying his little man syndrome. what he has not reported in print
and possibly to the others on board at the time is,
-- after being on board for sometime, he informed the crew that he should not be
on board as he was booked into hospital for heart treatment.
THEN-----
-- once at sea,his other complaint of fluid in both ankles developed to such an
extent,that he could not bear his feet to the deck----he was NURSED by the crew
IN HIS BUNK with pillows to elevate his swollen feet.
( by this time, skipper/crew confidence in this trip regarding distance from port verses pending health problems becomes a questionable issue.
-- day openly stated to crew that he should return early & at a later time he was
in fact instumental in suggesting the same to the other punters. we know that some would have stayed, because as always, tommorrow is another day.
he was right about onething, it was not a good trip--for our part,it was not comfortable in anyway.
So to give the benefit of any doubt he was re-embersed with an agreed amount ( did he mention agreed ) !!!!!!! NO !!!!!!
In summary DAYOO DAY you are a terrible hypocrite as you have openly BAGGED prominent operators here for various reasons and including the lack of fish. But you have used their names in order to prop up your own cause.
how quickly we fall in the eyes of this little man as your previous letter to all,
put us at the top of the list.(ie;your letter you wrote, about your first trip with us)
You people who respond to DAY'S comments should consider the responsibility and liability that Skippers/Masters carry with regard to health and safety issues on board ship and when circumstances prevail it is not always and or entirely the operators fault in the decision making.
I would add DAYOO DAY that some or all on board with you ( bearing in mind they were not your mates ) possibly would not have been aware of your plight and in particular your commands to crew.
I in all fact spoke to one of your group 1-2 weeks after your trip and he indicated he may come again - BUT WITHOUT YOU !!!!!!!!
Finally at the end of the day, DAY it was your call to return early.
In response to nightmare charter by dayyoo(aka,barry day), what a two faced unit he is, as well as displaying his little man syndrome. what he has not reported in print
and possibly to the others on board at the time is,
-- after being on board for sometime, he informed the crew that he should not be
on board as he was booked into hospital for heart treatment.
THEN-----
-- once at sea,his other complaint of fluid in both ankles developed to such an
extent,that he could not bear his feet to the deck----he was NURSED by the crew
IN HIS BUNK with pillows to elevate his swollen feet.
( by this time, skipper/crew confidence in this trip regarding distance from port verses pending health problems becomes a questionable issue.
-- day openly stated to crew that he should return early & at a later time he was
in fact instumental in suggesting the same to the other punters. we know that some would have stayed, because as always, tommorrow is another day.
he was right about onething, it was not a good trip--for our part,it was not comfortable in anyway.
So to give the benefit of any doubt he was re-embersed with an agreed amount ( did he mention agreed ) !!!!!!! NO !!!!!!
In summary DAYOO DAY you are a terrible hypocrite as you have openly BAGGED prominent operators here for various reasons and including the lack of fish. But you have used their names in order to prop up your own cause.
how quickly we fall in the eyes of this little man as your previous letter to all,
put us at the top of the list.(ie;your letter you wrote, about your first trip with us)
You people who respond to DAY'S comments should consider the responsibility and liability that Skippers/Masters carry with regard to health and safety issues on board ship and when circumstances prevail it is not always and or entirely the operators fault in the decision making.
I would add DAYOO DAY that some or all on board with you ( bearing in mind they were not your mates ) possibly would not have been aware of your plight and in particular your commands to crew.
I in all fact spoke to one of your group 1-2 weeks after your trip and he indicated he may come again - BUT WITHOUT YOU !!!!!!!!
Finally at the end of the day, DAY it was your call to return early.
Wise old man once said
There are 3 sides to every arguement.......yours, mine and the truth
In reply to the personal attack on me by new member adrianandbeck (obviously the owner the the charter) I would like to state that:
(a) I was not booked into hospital for heart treatment
(b) Upon boarding the boat I informed the skipper that I had sore ankles and that I would be resting on the bunk when we were not fishing. When we were fishing after we left the catfish spot I was on the deck fishing with the rest.
(c) the decision to return early was agreed by the seven of us because we were not taken to the agreed area north of the Mahinos and that a two day two night charter should not take paying passengers to well fished out areas just outside the bar.
(d)The 6 other fishos on the boat are not prepared to go again.
The character of an individual is shown when one has to stoop to a personal discriminating attack and I leave it to Ausfish members to be the judge