Thread: mark up on USA electronics in australia

Angry mark up on USA electronics in australia

It's probably come up before for discussion but I can't believe the price variations. I've been looking at Garmin GPS units and am amazed at the markup on prices in aussie. I am told GME have the sole distribution rights in aussie for units that come preloaded with our maps in units such as the 555. Garmin won't or can't supply the same unit via any other region so the only options appear to be pay the price here or buy the 545 unit overseas (preloaded with usa map) and buy a G2 vision chart for aussie which can be supplied (is this a loophole????) Maybe the public in the fishing fraternity should be polled about what companies like GME are up to as the focus for the public is usually on issues such as the oil companies. Perhaps someone out there can shed some light on whether the government is also making a profit out of this sort of business.

Re: mark up on USA electronics in australia

Hi Greyfox,

I totally agree with your comments.

I am currently looking at the cost of a chartplotter from USA & with maps there is about a 30-40% discount.

Its a bit of a joke really

I just purchased a Garmin 3210..10.4 inch color screen with GPS aerial ..with the new G2 Chart...of all Aust and NZ for 2200....Aussie

Cheap...

Hi Snelly. When you are reading from the G2 chart instead of the hard drive map, do functions such as making routes and marking waypoints still work? I'm looking at the 545 unit and it is @$940 versus $1950 in Brissie for the 555. The G2 chart is also about $200 cheaper so I'm keen if all the functions in the unit can still be used via the chart. Keen to hear how you are finding the unit.

I dont really understand your Question??/.....

If you are asking ....can i use on my unit all the functions on the g2 charts...yes....

The 30-40% difference in cost will be mostly made up of import tax and the daustralia distributors margin....

This is the case is a lot of industries not just marine exlectronics.

Frank

I have just had a GPS & aussie maps delivered to my door from USA.

Total cost was about 55% of local purchase price.

The service & speed was excellent. Purchased from s.c.u.b.a.s.t.e.v.e.

With the exchange rate being so good at the moment, and such savings to be made, I couldn't justify buying locally.

Sorry to all the local outlets who are missing out on sales, but money talks.
    Many Thanks

TonyG

I am probably jumping in a bit late but forget the 555 with US loaded maps. Go for the 525. It is the same hi res screen over and above the 520 but it doesn't have any preloaded maps other than the basic world wide background map. This way you are not paying for preinstalled software you don't need.

g'day Frank, I haven't got a clue about the taxes businesses pay on importations apart from GST, which they presumably claim back?

Are there still other duties etc on fishing electronics?

Very good advice on the 525, smaks.

If you in fact have only one distribution center in Australia for electronics, it is a perfect example of what a monopoly does to the market and pricing. Some of the difference I'm fairly certain is taxes and duties they incur.

Hmmmm ,I wonder how the pricing structure and buying power for a country with a consumer base of 300 million(USA) versus 20 million (AUS) affects how much we end up paying for a product.
    In the end it all comes down to volumes and margins.

Thanks for the tip on the 525 unit Smaks. I hadn't looked at the specs on this unit until you mentioned it and $100 for preloaded usa maps is better off in my pocket. Thanks again.

worth looking at Qld outdoor and marine electronics, local business, us prices or better. A few guys I know (inc myself) have bought high-end gear through them and been very happy with service and especially price.

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Hmmmm ,I wonder how the pricing structure and buying power for a country with a consumer base of 300 million(USA) versus 20 million (AUS) affects how much we end up paying for a product.
    In the end it all comes down to volumes and margins.

Scott - thats just not right mate.
    they make the same units for everyone on earth. their consumer base is many times more than just usa.

we should only be paying the extra costs for shipping, import taxes and gst.
    Your argument would hold water if we had specially made products just to suit australian regulations (like motor cars for example).

no excuses for the huge hike in prices IMO

you must remember that a dealer/importer is not doing a "one off" save a dollar deal, they have Wages to Pay, Wharehousing costs, warranty handling issues, parts inventory to keep, Import tarifs, a whole host of stuff that a single purchase guy does not worry about, so I do not really think that to compare what you can buy off (say) ebay or a direct purchase option is a fair comparison, and if you do buy over seas and you have a drama, who do you see first, the poor guy in your Local Tackle shop that you just did out of his few bucks, or maybe even call the "proper" importers/agents to try to get them to "bail you out", by the way, I do not work for an Importer I just want to get across why there can be a difference that APPEARS to be huge, there is a lot more to running a profitable long lasting business than just buying and selling stuff for a profit!