Thread: Reef fish Closures, what does it really mean?

Reef fish Closures, what does it really mean?

Looking to head to the GBR this weekend because seabreeze said I can - so far anyway.

Would like to target mainly GTs and Spanish or whatever comes my way at the surface, but also thinking that if I find a good show of baitfish and see some big critters racing around that I think are spanish, am I allowed lawfully to fish for them?? anyone know?

Re: Reef fish Closures, what does it really mean?

hi scott ,as far as I know you can fish for whatever you like,just cant take home any coral reef fin fish.
    I dont bother making the trip to the reef during the closures as I would be bored just trolling all day .
    There should still be some big spanish to be caught inshore though.
    Nice few showers at the moment,BTW.

FNQ - You can still go fishing, but you are not allowed to keep anything on the Coral Reef Fin Fish species list. Spannish are not included in that list, so no worries keeping them. Just don't forget to clip their pectoral fin. More detailed information can be found on the "Fishweb" site on the net. Hope this helps.

Jeff.
    Quality is still delivering long after you have forgotten the price.

Ok thanks fella's, was worried about the fact that I may be fishing where/how the no take species could be caught so was leaving myself open somehow, will look at it the same way as I look at regulated fish.

fnq

Quote Originally Posted by bundylundy View Post
    FNQ - You can still go fishing, but you are not allowed to keep anything on the Coral Reef Fin Fish species list. Spannish are not included in that list, so no worries keeping them. Just don't forget to clip their pectoral fin. More detailed information can be found on the "Fishweb" site on the net. Hope this helps.

Jeff.
    Bundylundy,

Isn't that almost what I stated in the post before?

FNQ,
    It must be so hard for the charter operators to deal with these closures on top of the weather.Feel a bit sorry for them,actually.

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Bundylundy,

Isn't that almost what I stated in the post before?

FNQ,
    It must be so hard for the charter operators to deal with these closures on top of the weather.Feel a bit sorry for them,actually.

Yeah Scott hard going for them without doubt, this dry seemed to blow more consistant than years past but not sure if the new boat had a hand in me thinking that

FNQ
    I am with you its been too long since I have been out I will be happy to troll all day

A full list of Coral reef fin fish can be found here, http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xc...2_ENA_HTML.htm.

Only thing is if you are going to use fusilers as like bait for the macks, you can't, as they are included in the above finfish list, which really sucks, cos they a good bait for big spanish.

Quote Originally Posted by Scott nthQld View Post
    A full list of Coral reef fin fish can be found here, http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xc...2_ENA_HTML.htm.

Only thing is if you are going to use fusilers as like bait for the macks, you can't, as they are included in the above finfish list, which really sucks, cos they a good bait for big spanish.
    Thanks for that, didn't think about that angle but would almost certainly have been just squid bait or gars on the day.

Hi Scott
    if your chasing spanairds go deep, ATM there is some huge monsters out there, we just got back from a 5 day trip off high Island and surrounds, the biggest 2 went 28kg and 26kg and a few went 16-20 kg, a good mate made me a parra-vein (sp) and we were down about 20m using wolfies for bait

hey daz,

Sounds like a ripper of a trip.Hope we get to see a report with some pics.
    BTW where's high island?,26-28kg macs,I think i want to go there.

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    Hi Scott
    if your chasing spanairds go deep, ATM there is some huge monsters out there, we just got back from a 5 day trip off high Island and surrounds, the biggest 2 went 28kg and 26kg and a few went 16-20 kg, a good mate made me a parra-vein (sp) and we were down about 20m using wolfies for bait

Half your luck Daz, those are big fish! Gor one of those vanes will need to dig it up.