Thread: Drag Issue

Drag Issue

Was fishing today with my favourite little outfit but was having issues with the drag on my sedona. It seems I have to almost fully lock the screw cap now to get any significant drag pressure, which will make it harder to adjust during a fight. Is this just the drag washers getting on a bit? I've had this reel for nearly 3 years now and it has seen a lot of use, particularly in the last year and a half. Does anyone have a rough idea of how much it would cost to get this sort of issue fixed? Any help appreciated.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Re: Drag Issue

i can fix it mate
    figjam :wink:

did ya hook something and could not stop it hehe
    figjam :wink:

I reckon it might just have had enough, it;s not the most expensive reel out there and I've definitely given it some stick over the years.
    Joel

have a look at this thread it could be of some help

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=117291

al

Pretty cheap to get new washers in it. If you don't want to do it yourself just drop it off at a tackle store and they'll do it. I just had new washers and a service on my baitcaster for $50. A Sedona would be fairly easy to pull down, and parts for that reel would be readily available. I had mine done at Jones Tackle at Lutwyche......Nice little store too. Had trouble making it out the door without emptying my wallet.

When your storing your gear, do you turn the drag dial back ? if not, that would be applying unwanted pressure to the drag system which effects the performance.

G'Day Mate, My Sedona did the same thing after about 4 yrs of Bass fishing, Did alot of work, figured it was time to change the drag washers, having said that I have yet to get around to doing it, sure it's at the lower end of the market but was more than capable of handling big Somerset bass, Cheers Whitto

LGM- I do back it off most of the time, and it's only had 4-8lb braid on it so no heavy duty drag pressure.

Whitto- Yeah, I've had mine since late 2004 and it's survived a couple of trips to moreton island, some decent size barra and trevs etc.. so I certainly can't complain about how well it has lasted. Bloody good reel for $98.

Alfish- cheers for the link mate. I know you can do it yourself, but I like leaving it to people who have a clue
    Joel

did ya get a spare spool joel?? check the washers and if they are the same just swap the washers over from the spare, if ya not sure bring it over an ill have a squiz, did it to my laguna, its pretty easy.