Has anyone caught fish at Colleges crossing?
If so where, i've tried a couple of times with no success. Any info appreciated.
Ryno
Has anyone caught fish at Colleges crossing?
If so where, i've tried a couple of times with no success. Any info appreciated.
Ryno
Crikey ai haven't heard of anybody fishing at colledges crossing for ages.
Oh BTW that would be fresh water.
20 to 30 years ago colledges crossing was an extreemly popular place to go to swim & barbQ excterea...... I do remember people fishing off the bridge.
Cant say I can tell you anything about catching anything there.
I used to jump in there with a snorkel and handspear years ago. There used to be decent Bream there even though it is fresh water. We actually used to do quite well on them and always get a few.
Best spot from memory was just downstream from the bridge, in and around where the pipes cross the river.
Couldn't tell you what its like, now - this was probly 15 years ago.
My old man caught a flathead ta the bridge a couple of years back, couldn't believe it. Seen heaps of bream in there.
Yeah i used to fish it last year there have been reorts of Tarpon there, there are plenty of sharks i have seen them but the best bet is the creek behind the main swimming area, we used to get plenty of small bream, and it's actually brackish thanks to the drought and tidal influence, best time to fish is the high tide because the water is ankle deep without high tide, personally i wouldnt bother if i were you i would fish up at mt. Crosby wier, plenty of fish there, cheers chris
Thanks for the info. Mt Crosby weir would be for freshwater species, Bass i'm guessing??
Have been told about good bream being caught at colleges but Sharks the mainstay. I think i will have to bite the bullet and drive further a field.
Thanks all for replies.
Ryno
beaross, i remember when those pipes USE to be there, for some reason they have been removed and now the pilons they sat on are left.
But yea ryno probably better to head for more saltier water if you are after more.
I caught a bass there a few years back in the rapids. plenty downstream from there too.
While running in a new motor threw a line in and was surprised to catch six nice bream one went 33cm and one nice cod that was about two months ago have heard of some salmon being caught since
i used to get some good bass (40cm+) there at night during summer on surface poppers.... (1-2yrs back) particularly on the darker nights.
Just don't forget the aeroguard... the mosquitoes would carry you away.
never fished there but have heard reports of heaps of gar fish
Hey mate,
i have lived at mt crosby for 20 yrs and the fishing has been better in the past. Today is still quite good if you know the right spots. If your set on colleges then your best bet is to head to the left hand side of the bridge (if your heading towards ippy) past the black water main. At the change of tides if use prawns. We caught 9 bream and 2 flat heads just last weekend also a couple of eel and cattys. Use a float if you find yourself getting snagged alot. If your after yellow fin salmon head upstream to kookaburra park there also good flatty and tarpon in summer. Sharks head toward mt crosby weir.
Good fishin,
M
Yup, plenty of fish there. Gar, Mullet on surface, try the creek entrances to the lake area on slack tide.
Down at each side of rapids depending on tide.
Upstream for the bass.
Is a great space for kids to play, fish, swim (in the shallows).
But be careful, there are sharks there too.
You say fish, I say yes please.
hey mate iv fished at colleges for years, if you setup about 50 mt right of the boat ramp there early morn and dusk on the high tides you will have a good chance of catching a few bull sharks, only on live bait though. at night is also good for bream near the weed banks, fish with little or no weight. cheers
joel
Gday Ryno. Not sure how its fishing after all the rain ,but a mate of mine caught a 100+ good bream over a weeks period just down past where the pipe was"didnt know it was gone,been a while since ive been there"roughly a month ago.All caught on SP's and lures. Use to get plenty of mullet and gar using float and dough many years ago for fun where everyone swims.Through the week though ,to busy on the weekends. Cheers Jamie