V17 Haines Reno - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: V17 Haines Reno

Re: V17 Haines Reno

Gday doc and son,
    i do this sort of thing for a living; but this is how i would attack it. Sit the hull on the floor and support it, remove the deck completly as most of it is stripped anyway.I would make the stringers,and floor out of glass.Glass in the stringers leaving a small gap for the plywood transom, the gap is so you can wedge the ply hard against the skin of the transom using the stringers.Next cut the floor in and dont for get to glass the stringers to the transom.Where the belly tank goes is the only place for ply(use 3/4 inch here) and i put a bog edge so no screws are used.Then just flow coat it and put the deck back on ,all done .Cheers...jim

yep, thats my thoughts as well deck right off, not a really difficult job, but will end up a much better finished product, especially if you are going to flowcoat under the deck as well so it looks like new.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    Even though it is a slightly bigger job, I reckon to remove the entire deck from the side joints, it is better and easier to put it all back together, and makes doing the reapirs a lot easier to get at, as well as being able to recoat the entire thing to get it all looking nice and new again when finished.

Removing the entire deck is creating a shit load more work.
    cutting the back part of the deck off infront of the outboard well is the best way.
    you only have 2 cuts and a gunwhale rubber to fix up.

tah, bev. Pictures are a big help to us. Anybody?

Quote Originally Posted by ColacGirl View Post
    Cutting the deck in front of the well is Ross' preferred method too.
    Can anyone link to a project that shows pics of this being done?

Doing a search for - blaze rebuild - brings up 2 pages of rebuilds including the threads you started blaze. Unfortunately the pics are gone from the ones I looked at.

--
    Bev
    Tah bev, pictures are very helpful. Anybody?

Quote Originally Posted by gavsgonefishing View Post
    just did a search on my project, found the thread with no pics, I am pretty sure they will be in the puter, just ask which pics you want, from transom to making stringers, you name it
    Thanks Gavsgonefishing,
    Any shots of approximate cut line in front of motor well, hollow stringer construction and transom replacement from inside would be fantastic!
    Luke

Good luck too you mate, i'm in the middle of doing a reno on a 213c haines myself. A lot of hard work but will be worth it in the end.

Good advice, the hull will be well supported. We will only do this job once.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbo59 View Post
    Gday doc and son,
    i do this sort of thing for a living; but this is how i would attack it. Sit the hull on the floor and support it, remove the deck completly as most of it is stripped anyway.I would make the stringers,and floor out of glass.Glass in the stringers leaving a small gap for the plywood transom, the gap is so you can wedge the ply hard against the skin of the transom using the stringers.Next cut the floor in and dont for get to glass the stringers to the transom.Where the belly tank goes is the only place for ply(use 3/4 inch here) and i put a bog edge so no screws are used.Then just flow coat it and put the deck back on ,all done .Cheers...jim
    Wow, it's easy after all! Being a runabout configuration access for repair work is not a major, except under motor well of course. Strength is vital though. Thanks for your help with sequencing and the transom tips. Much appreciated.
    Luke

Quote Originally Posted by Crestcutter View Post
    Good luck too you mate, i'm in the middle of doing a reno on a 213c haines myself. A lot of hard work but will be worth it in the end.
    Yep. Our real work hasn't started yet. I'm pretty big on being prepared, so information first, step it out in a plan, then tools will be a-flailing. Appreciate the well-wishes, all the best for your HH.
    Luke

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    yep, thats my thoughts as well deck right off, not a really difficult job, but will end up a much better finished product, especially if you are going to flowcoat under the deck as well so it looks like new.
    Thanks, Noelm. We have not decided yet, though it looks like only removing well from deck will suit us best. We will flow coat only repaired work. We are not fussed on prettying/painting the hull too much as it does not suit the fishing we do.
    Strength is what were after. Also worth mentioning, we want to keep this boat for as long as she will go for us.

Egads! there's a hole in our boat...I am not into blaming anyone cos that would be childish and disloyal.... but it wasn't me.

whiile we are taking Haines V17
    MY BOAT HAS BEEN RETRO FITTED
    There is a tank that is in the middle length ways, however they have glassed up the front section after the tank and raised the floor up to point where it reaches the bulkead where the steering is.
    What is underneath that section because i am sure it is not standard and do not want to cut without knowing??

Any-one got some PICS of the interior ????

Thanks and Cheers

Luke,
    Have you read the thread named Transom Replacement Project
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=112862

--
    Bev
    P.S Play-Pen will be at the Pin this weekend

Got more coming, I took the top half off up to the cockpit as I was lengthening the boat. You can do it any way from cutting behind the engine well thorugh to knocking the whole top off, just make sure you have sat down and thoought about it until you have it very clear how you are going to approach a project like this.

I only needed one support as the hull was pretty rigid. Cut as many supports as you think necessary.and screw them in to the top of the hull.

Think now where and what size fuel tanks etc. This will make the overall plan a lot easier to put together. Note I didnt put wood all the way down to the bottom, its so the bungs are in glass,not wood (no rot later on