Thread: Pilchards, gang hooks, rigs and other stupid questions

Red face Pilchards, gang hooks, rigs and other stupid questions

I know there is no such thing as a stupid question, but this post will probably challenge that theory

How do you rig a pulchard on gang hooks. A pic or video would be great.

What is the setup that should be used? target is snapper and flathead

I read a lot of people use a float, any info would be great. My pillie seemed to stay prettyy close to the surface unaided. Any other advise on the subject would be greatly appreciated

Re: Pilchards, gang hooks, rigs and other stupid questions

mate for an average sized pillie gang THREE MUSTARD 3/o together.
    have a trace about 60cm long i like to have the sinker on the trace line not the main line.
    you dont need a big sinker just a smalll 0 or 00 maybe a 1 ball depending on current and birds.

measure you pillie against the hooks, put the bottom hook down near the tail, thasn your middle hook and than the top hook through the pillies eye, stay toward his backbone and not the gut. Than the rig that loophole suggested.
    ________
    Masturbation Vid

Make sure ya get good pillies too. If you have to cast, then soft pillies will just fly right off.

Thanks guys, still a bit unsure of how the hooks go,,, through the side of the fish with the point out the other side? I put it through the back of the fish yesterday, but with no barb exposed I figured I'd be luckyn to get a hookup.

So the sinker sits agains the hook?

yes have the sinker running to the first hook which is tied to your mainline hve the hooks going through the side of the pillie with the barbs exposed

a way you can make it a bit easier to put the pilly on is to use minimum size 3/0 mustard hook(open eye for ganging) and a size 6 or 8 barrel swivel in between each hook,ive found it makes feeding a pilly on heaps easyer. ask your guy at your local tackle shop,he should no how this goes together and shouldnt have a prob showing you. good luck!!

thanks for your help guys, one more question.
    Do you just let it 'float' and put the rod in the holder or is some form of action required to make the pillie look alive?

chuck it up current and let it float slowy down .

ok, We'll give it a go next time, thanks

And start off by putting the bottom hook in first, then the middle one, and the top one through the eye of the pillie. Personally I use a single 8/0 hook and don't bother ganging for snapper. I feed the hook right through the eye, and then insert the hook through the pille and back through near the tail, then pull the line back to finish up with. Works for me on species with fairly large mouths, like lippers, snapper, flathead, coral trout, etc, etc. Most fish strike either the gut or the tail first, so that's where your hook needs to be.

Hi mate

If you are looking for a video, try googling the alvey video segment on heavy surf fishing. Or if you can get hold of their free DVD with the same video segment, it'll show you precisely how to gang a pilly up.

Owen

G'day Hamish

check ya PM