Looking at buying a 4x4 wagon.Can some one fill me in on the jeeps you seem to be able to pick up a 1997 /98 sports wagon 120km to 180km for around $10 000.I know the 4lt sucks a bit of petrol but thay seem to be good value.
This might be an isolated Jeep, but me mate bought his new and had 3 complete front ends in it. Within a few thousand K's it would either vibrate or whine or rattle. Just before warranty run out he traded it, for a challenger.
But that was the only problem with it otherwise a pretty good vehicle.
Yeah a person needs to be dedicated to own one, a few say they have had no problems with theirs, I don't know whether to believe them or not
ive got a customer that owns 2 of them and they are nothing but a pain. hard to get parts for, hard to work on. every single one cracks an exhaust manifold which are a pain to fix cos they are a dirty old crossflow motor which is from the 1950's. they are a rough bit of gear that aint worth anything with no resale value if you can find someone to buy it
My missus bought a new wrangler,she hasnt had any trouble ,but it is super thirsty on fuel,it has that much road noise it gives you a headache,and it is very uncomfortable,not to mention i think its toe capacity is only 750 kilos,not much of a car for a male but the momen seem to love them.![]()
The older Jeeps are just that, old. They have, and some models still have old technology. This is mainly to do with the engines and engineering. If you want a Jeep, the only ones to buy are the new Laredos and Commander, which actually are manufactured in the Benz factory in Austria. The new Cherokees, Renegades etc have their diesel engines (which are Benz engines) manufactured in Italy and the rest of the bits come from USA and other parts of the world.
Trust me on this one, anything but the Austrian based models will give you grief. For $10, try and buy a decent but old Cruiser or Patrol with a petrol engine and convert it to gas. The Nissan GU 4.5L petrols are great to convert to LPG and you can get a goodie for not much.
Just my 2 bobs worth.
Mind you one good thing about the old jeep is the plastic tail gate.
I had to check it out a few times but yep there plastic, got to be a good thing.
Plenty of comments from those who do not know or know someone who knew someone. Horror strories come from all corners.
The XJ cherokee represents good value plenty of fruit as standard. Does chew the juice but can run gas.
Stay away from the XJ diesel they don't like getting hot and will cost an arm if it does.
Parts are very cheap , cheaper then jap, you just need to look away from main stream, Hammonds in Brisbane. There are a lot of XJ's around when you start to look.
The headers will crack (stainless) but aftermarket ones will fix this or you can pull them off and weld them up. The engines are old school, had plebnty of upgrades until superseded. Produce heaps of grunt, will blow the doors off most other 4bs. will outlast Jap petrol engine. They are not cross flow.
Visit www.ausjeepoffroad.com or PM me for more info. Kev.
Last edited by Reel Hard; 19-09-2007 at 08:17 PM.
Mark at Off Road World on the Gold Coast has had a lot to do with Jeeps, give him a call. He is normally happy to answer questions unless he is really busy, which can be often as he is by himself (by choice, only way to guarantee quality work) and is good at what he does. Last time I was in ther he had 3 wranglers on hoists under differing levels of modifications.
![]()
May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line
we see a few of these come through as trades ranging anywhere in age from 2-3 years and older
everyone of em goes straight to wholesale,,,,,,,,,regardless of condition
last one was a 2 year old sports,,,,had all the trimmings,,,,mud chuckers,,,nice nudge bar ,,,interior was spotless and very low k's,,, trade was 5k under his payout and it lasted all of 1 day before the wholesaler was made to take it away
they have a few warranty issues,,,,dear on service/parts/fuel
and are generally a pain in the butt
can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE
I have done some work on these vehicles in the past and would strongly recommend to avoid them unless you are capable of doing your own repairs,and have the room to carry a good supply of tools and parts.
THOUGHT OF THE DAY
Live life like a dog,If you cant eat it or hump it ,
pee on it and walk away.
did you see the thing on 4wds on tv the other night ?. the worst one for repairs,economy,breakdown, guess who? yes jeep.bob h
Thanks gents your coments have been taken on bord . I am still looking around.
Good day,
own a 1995 cherokee.Never owned a bigger piece of s--t in my life.Build quality is a rough as guts(lada niva quality) bits fall off all the time.Bloody big mistake in my opinion.Lost most resale value when fuel hit $1.40 a litre (drinks like a alco) I want my cruiser back.Only positive is the strong 4l motor (good boat tractor)
Do yourself a favor
Buy something else
Reidy![]()
My brother has the misfortune of working on quite a few of the last shape Cherokees - pieces of crap that are very expensive to fix. They dont have wheel bearings that are servicable for example - you have to buy the whole hub and the whole hub requires a second mortgage and a long wait at times from the US. They have few redeeming features because in standard trim they are even pretty poor off road - they have far less suspension travel than what live axles should have!