tweed river Weir fishway. - Page 2

Thread: tweed river Weir fishway.

Re: tweed river Weir fishway.

hey, rabbitohbill you can get to the oxley from old lismore road (off tyalgum rd about 1 km from kyogle rd turn off) its further up stream than from bynagnum bridge. not many people fish up there because you can only really launch a kayak or canoe. also i have no idea what the weed is like up that way but i've been told theres some good spots ! i do know down stream from bynagnum bridge , past the island isn't too bad at all. spinnerbaits work best because of weed .
    jamie

Thanks Jamie, I know exactly where you mean. There is a little low concrete bridge heading to the strawberry farm. I have stopped on the bridge a number of times & thought to myself "that looks fishy"

I'll give it a try soon & let you know how it goes.

You know, I have NEVER used a spinnerbait in my life.

hi rabbitohbill, i'd be lost without my spinnerbaits ! i think they are the bass lure there is . a mate and i caught 70 bass in 4 hours at the hinze, both of us used white kokoda's 1/4 ounce. i know jackalls are good (caught plenty in weir, one day 30 and a 48cm under bynagnum bridge ) but with spinnerbaits you can cast them into places you wouldn't dare cast a crankbait lure. you can drag them through weed and snags and the way the hook is designed the only thing they seem to hook is fish. you can wind them fast or slow, troll them even jigging works. i always use a soft plastic on them ,works well.
    jamie

Hey Rabbitohbill, What Jamie said.
    Get some spinners mate, if you fish freshwater you should have a couple stashed in your tacklebox at all times....THEY ROCK
    Yellabelly are quite partial too them as well.

fished the fresh side of weir this morning 8/10 caught 8 bass (30cm to 36cm) 7 on spinnerbaits 1 on a jackall, had a humungous hit on a surface popper, but it swam to fast. lots of weed still and heaps of floating stuff too. caught all my fish between the island and the weir. had lots of hits , a better fisherman than me would have cleaned up !

caught 4 bass yesterday 14/10 still lots of weed, all my fish were caught on spinnerbaits, must of had 50 hits . my spinner wasn't working properly due to age (2 years old) gotta get some new ones. talking to other fishermen there they said they got 5 on poppers.
    jamie

fished the weir yesterday 18/10 with my brother he caught 2 i got 12. heaps of eels sighted, even had one hang on to my spinner for a while. heaps of fish under the bridge, it was great fun.
    jamie

Thanks for the reports jamie, i am going to try and get out for a bass flick either this weekend or next. look out for a bright orange canoe and roydsy frothing the water up.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Quote Originally Posted by roydsy View Post
    Thanks for the reports jamie, i am going to try and get out for a bass flick either this weekend or next. look out for a bright orange canoe and roydsy frothing the water up.
    Let us know how you go. I went on Tuesday late arvo from the UKI bridge up and found the fish to be within 1km of the bridge, further up saw a couple of hits but apart from that fairly dead. Lots of weed to.

went fishing with my girl in the weir yesyerday 20/10 she caught 2 bass (her first) and after she got the first one the first thing she said was " i want a bigger one ! " it was awsome. i also got 2 on spinners. started to panc , a first timer nearly beat me .
    jamie