Another Boaties Market at Victoria Point - Page 2

Thread: Another Boaties Market at Victoria Point

Re: Another Boaties Market at Victoria Point

Yep, goodo on the VMR for organising
    Unlike Phil my brother and I got there late but still reasonably early...5.05am
    I stocked up on crap just to keep the junk levels in the dungeon up to their normal levels.
    I didn't get as much crap this time though...only 2 trips needed to put all the stuff in Wally the wonder wagon.
    A few bargains had and better to see a few I knew.
    Funny thing though...when I got home the cook asked me what boat did I buy??? I take that as I've been the green light to buy another one
    PS the sausage sambo's were up to the normal standard....yummo
    Last edited by finga; 21-10-2007 at 02:16 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Yeah Scott, you were there a lot earlier than me, because I had to pick up 2 blokes at gentlemans hours. About 0800 we got there.

Anyway, no worries, I got a Shimano Aernos 6000 and an Abu Gracia 7'6" 3-5 kg rod for a good price. There was also a bloody good Daiwa Turbo rod or somesort that I should have got for $25 but got scared off simply by its thinness at the top end and I got to thinking "this rod is too good for you, you old turd".

Pretty good all round I thought.

Ran into the miscreant, Paul the Deckie, and then quickly found that other miscreants were there as well. However all was well, as I was introduced to Bev (Colac Girl) and let me tell you people, that lady is something special! Boy, is her hubby one lucky man! Wow!

i had a good day, met some really nice people as well. didn't sell a lot, (no taste some people )pity the sausages ran out around nine..was pretty hungry by then..

Great day out... i got there about 7ish and by 8:30 everything was sold pretty much... got rid of most of the offshore gear i bought for Agnes that i won't use again so was happy there.

Met up with Aigutso and saw Ray walking around. Also saw nugget walk past... i was keeping my eye out for the rif raf (Phill, Paul & Blaze) but missed them. I think i was out of there by 9:30... i'd seen everything i could, and sold out of stuff... i even ended up selling some of my rarely used plastics too.

Of course it was straight to BCF to buy different ones though... and a new Loomis rod... anyone want a 1-3kg Shimano T Curve? $180...

Quote Originally Posted by theoldlegend View Post

Ran into the miscreant, Paul the Deckie, and then quickly found that other miscreants were there as well. However all was well, as I was introduced to Bev (ColacGirl) and let me tell you people, that lady is something special! Boy, is her hubby one lucky man! Wow!
    <blushes>
    Sheesh, what a charmer you are TOL
    It was great to meet you, other ausfishers and the stall holders we chatted to

We were late, arrived about 8'ish, but that didn't stop Ross from finding enough bargains to empty my wallet
    A huge tension wrench (wonders what we're fixing next)
    50m of rope (wonders how much rope we need to own)
    A funny looking handle thingy that had a few ausfishers wondering what he'd bought.....

Here's the funny looking handle thingy -

and this is what it's for -

Top morning thanks Vic Point VMR.... we'll be back in March.

--
    Bev

White Ants in the Play-Pen
    Seafarer Ventura 17 rebuild
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=66409

Hi all, thanks to all the Ausfishers who support us by coming along and to those that cant by getting the word out there to the other Boaties.

Both Markets held this year were the largest to date.
    Apart from the one held at the same time as this last year, it has grown just that little bit larger every time.
    In no small part thats thanks to the people from this site and particularly Nugget pushing it along on 4BC etc.

Originally when we started this it was to make money.... at the time it was in my opinion just another pain in the ar@e fund raising event to put fuel in the boats. Now it has become so popular and with such positive feedback from those attending that the members of the unit and myself actually look forward to this event. It has just as importantly become a good pr event and a nice day out meeting good people. I was there at 7am as well, had a quick look around and saw that things were going well and that everyone was smiling and everyone appeared pretty happy.

I am pleased from the reports on here that everyone was pretty satisfied with their sales and purchases. I look forward to the day that it becomes such a large event that the school grounds are not big enough and it has to be moved to accommodate the growth. I reckon that could possibly happen within the next 5 years?

Sorry that some of you went hungry when the snags ran out, the school P&C run the BBQ and this helps them with their fund raising so we don't have any input in to this side of things. We help the school by giving 10% of all the funds that we make for giving us the valuable use of their grounds.

Anyway, work awaits, thanks to you all for supporting another successful Boaties Market and I look forward to catching up with many of yous on the 9th March 2008.

Yours Sincerely
    Lloyd

Quote Originally Posted by DR View Post
    i had a good day, met some really nice people as well. didn't sell a lot, (no taste some people )pity the sausages ran out around nine..was pretty hungry by then..
    Yes your right mate....no taste at all.
    And I'm really sorry about the snags.
    I only had 3 or 4.
    Next time I'll know to bring a couple over to you for breaky

Quote Originally Posted by ColacGirl View Post
    and this is what it's for -

Top morning thanks Vic Point VMR.... we'll be back in March.

--
    Bev
    I saw that and thought it would be a tad big for the tinny...but wouldn't it be good cooking my own bacon and eggs in the morning for breaky or fresh fish (or prawn curry made out of the bait if no fish) for lunch....mmmmmm....
    I also saw that tension wrench and thought ....bloody hell I'd need a yard crane to lift the bugger
    Last edited by finga; 22-10-2007 at 06:21 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    I saw that and thought it would be a tad big for the tinny...but wouldn't it be good cooking my own bacon and eggs in the morning for breaky or fresh fish (or prawn curry made out of the bait if no fish) for lunch....mmmmmm....
    There's nothing like being able to boil the kettle, or cook a feed while you're in the boat.
    We only needed the handle thingy, as we already had the stove. Haven't used it yet, so hoping it works as good as it looks. If not we will revert to the portable butane cartridge stove.... cheap as chips and a wonderful invention

--
    Bev

White Ants in the Play-Pen
    Seafarer Ventura 17 rebuild
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=66409