Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678

Thread: Breathtaking stupidity on a Boat Ramp

Re: Breathtaking stupidity on a Boat Ramp

I got down to Whyte Island this morning to take my new boat for a test run.
    Whilst waiting for the old owner I sat and watched these Vietnamese (??) trying to start their boat. There was plenty of arguing going on in their own gooblydy gook language Then one of them had a good idea and decided to drive their falcon into the water to jumpstart the boat. Just as well the ramp was quite. Everyone there was pretty casual so they just let them carry on. They would have been there for 30min

I dont usually start it at home because I dont like coking the plugs...I like to start it and leave it running and then give it a good run (each to their own).

I dont start it on the trailer when launching. I launch, have the misses and kids hold the catch rope that is fixed to the bow and stern for good control and park the truck. I then jump into the boat and start her up and get the misses and kids in either off the bank or better still off the pier.

The only time I start it and run her off the trailer is where there is nowhere to hold her - I get the kids in, wife backs down the rig, lets some winch line out (electric in this case) and after undoing the clasp, I back her off and my wife parks the truck. She does not like parking the truck and trailer which is why we usually do it with a catch rope and holding on the bank.

Everyone has their own way I guess, but I try to make it as quick and safe as possible and hold the boat out of the way of the ramp so it does not cause problems for people. Its a 21 Vagabond so she can be a handful with wind.

Quote Originally Posted by Synful View Post
    Good stuff guys!!

I have about 4 or 5 days before I can get my first boat and have to learn the hard way how reverse a trailer and launch a boat at a ramp.

If I didn't read here first, I would never have known that you have to go no further than up to the wheel rims on your trailer in terms of enough depth to launch; I've seen some guys go in to their axles, others submerged their trailer wheels.

From the looks of it, I shouldn't have too much trouble as it's only a 4.2m tinny but knowing my limitations, I wouldn't knock back help either if anyone offered
    The only tip I can give you, is , USE YOUR MIRRORS.. don't learn by sticking your head out the window.

That's what I did & it's a hard habit to break. Funnily enough I can reverse a semi using mirrors, but not my boat trailer.... can't explain why!!!!

good luck

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Exactly 12 months ago i was out with my wife, we launched from hanging rock boat ramp at batemans Bay, if you dont know this ramp it must be one of the best setups i have seen. 3 ramps, 2 piers, heaps of parking, and very sheltered.
    Anyway we were out all day and come in at around 3.00pm. We where greated by a huge line up, and i mean atleast 15 boats trying to get in.
    Well anyway i decied to have a look at the ramps to see what was going on, i wish i had a camera.
    There was a new 6+ metre fibreglass boat laying sideways across all 3 ramps,
    couldnt beleive my eyes, and felt a twinge from my back pocket!
    So i decided to go back out, cross the bar and ending up having a late session and went home with quality fish.
    But man i dont know what happened but it was a sight
    Joe.

Quote Originally Posted by roz View Post
    The only tip I can give you, is , USE YOUR MIRRORS.. don't learn by sticking your head out the window.

That's what I did & it's a hard habit to break. Funnily enough I can reverse a semi using mirrors, but not my boat trailer.... can't explain why!!!!

good luck

r.
    Thanks Roz,

Got to admit I use my mirrors all the time when reversing, never got into the hang of sticking my head out of the window, so looks like I get one tick before I start

Asides from anything else how do you know where the other side of your vehicle or trailer is if you're looking only one side? (No offence meant Roz, I wouldn't be game to try drive a semi so you're better than me to start with, never mind reversing it )

Sure I'll "make a pest of myself" the first few times; gonna try to stick to the non busy times to start with (around 1:00pm) this Sunday my first attempt. Hope I don't run into anyone dosed up on agro pills when i give it a go...

Andrew.
    =============
    W: www.agt.id.au
    M: 0410 834 486

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish73 View Post
    I got down to Whyte Island this morning to take my new boat for a test run.
    Whilst waiting for the old owner I sat and watched these Vietnamese (??) trying to start their boat. There was plenty of arguing going on in their own gooblydy gook language Then one of them had a good idea and decided to drive their falcon into the water to jumpstart the boat. Just as well the ramp was quite. Everyone there was pretty casual so they just let them carry on. They would have been there for 30min

Nice Yellow Raincoat that!

Quote Originally Posted by Sea-Dog View Post
    Does anyone use the tilt feature of the tilt trailer on ramp launches or retrieves?

Or is it just for beach launching?

Is trailer tilt only used when launching or both launch and retrieve?

I've never seen a trailer tilted at a ramp - maybe that's a clue.

I can imagine the tilt would be handy if you needed to drop the boat onto the front lawn for any reason - as it lowers the height of the rear rollers.

Hmmm - may come in handy if I have to pick the boat up off the ramp if I miss the water.
    Yeah I use the tilt on my trailer. Only has a 15 foot glass on it, but trailer is so old and rooted, with carpet slides, need the tilt to get the transom in the water to assist with launch. Dont need it on retrieve.

Anyone good some good tips for making the ol carpet slide a bit slipperier?

And yeah, have dropped it on the lawn a couple of times to work on trailer, is real handy.

Juzo

Yes mate - did it on my old trailer with a former boat - you can get slippery stuff from the marine suppliers - not the stuff for tinnies (ie poly) but a slippery soft rubber thats white and syped.

Juzo,

I know of ski boats that use plain old dishwashing liquid