Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Crossing Bass Strait

Re: Crossing Bass Strait

Steve,

Sorry to get off topic but who is your dad? Is he a West Coaster?

If you've known Tony for 20 years I think we'd have mutual aquaintences.

G'day Brett,

Dads name is Ian Jillett, he was a working in the Mt Lyell mine in Queenstown and then over at Renison in Zeehan. He was a Metallurgist. All up we were on the west coast in the late 60's then from 77 till 89. Mum and Dad are now up in Legana just out of Launceston. Dad has been going up the Gordon originally with the Queenstown anglers club and then starting doing trips of his own in the mid 80's. Thats when I first got to go up. I only know Purds through the Gordon river trip, I haven't lived on the west coast since 84. But Tassie is a small place, I was once hitchiking and received a ride from a couple who new dad from Queenstown in the 60's, very small world!! Next time I am in Hobart I'll let you know I am coming, I was fortunate to have 2 years down there with the Army in 02/03, love the place.

Quote Originally Posted by needaboat View Post
    G'day Mick,

No I haven't managed to get up into Birchs inlet yet. That is what I hope to do next year when I go up in September. I will have my boat up there instead of the old mans, his is only a dinghy so Birchs inlet would have been a big day for a little boat. I have heard it is spectacular. When I come over in Sep 08 I will have to catch up, I have been reading your posts on your new boat you have just got, that looks like it would be an awesome boat for the west coast. We might have to organise a Port Davey trip in a couple of years time. I am keen to get the boat down there as well, although I might have to wait till I can get a slightly bigger one for a trip like that!!

G'day Jeff,

I think I have seen that video of Malcolm Douglas crossing the strait, it was a long time ago though. I think he has it for sale on his Website, I will order it and give it a watch, thanks for the tip.

G'day Brett,

I was just up the Gordon in the first week of September, we too got up there just after the river rose quite high (not like the heights it reached a couple of months ago though). The fishing was a bit slow as a result, our party only managed 41 trout for the week. I ended up with 7 which I was happy with. Tony Purdon is a great bloke, he has taken us up over the last 20 years or so. I rang him to find out how to get up the Gordon/Franklin rapids. Dad has a permanent booking for early Sept, so while I am posted to Sale I will be going on the yearly trip every chance I can get. I should have mentioned in my earlier post about booking the camp, however, any time after Christmas you can rock up and take your chances with other visitors. The bookings are only required from late Aug - Dec each year.
    In reference to the Strait crossing, I reckon if I pick my weather it will be ok. If it does blow up I will only ever be 30 miles from any of the islands, so if need be I can duck into one of them and take shelter. I will use a Sat phone and be in regular contact with the Mainland.

Once again thank to all who have suggested various ideas, I am really looking forward to this trip and will keep everyone updated as it progresses.

Keep the tips coming

Hi Steve...Port Davey is approx 80 NM from Cape Sorell...Point Hibbs is a better trip ...24 NM and better fishing...great camping area ...and there are always boats there as it is one of the major Anchorages for the commercial fleet here...

Done that trip in may, hobart to the gold coast in a 63ft sunseeker she could cruise at 24knots used about 360 liters AH
    flinders island to eden took us about 14.5 hrs as we hit n -ne winds about 40 to 50 knots ,even that boat felt small in throws seas ,Still its a beautifull place
    Good luck
    Cheers Chris

I recon I might tag along, my 4.5m side console with the 50 on the back is pretty reliable

There's always one in every group, isn't there? (re:post above)
    Any fishing is good fishing (should probably say Any fishing is...probably going to be illegal soon)

Just one thing.
    REMEMBER THE 1998 SYDNEY HOBART
    Blaze and Snelly may be dead right.DEAD RIGHT
    I can not agree more with these two blokes as i to live on the strait (Georgetown)
    Lovely one moment deadly the next.
    Reidy
    ps and they were 60foot ocean racers

Its been done on a windsurfer

Good day Bugman,
    Sorry could not get the private message thing happening so i have replied here
    Cheers mate
    bugman ;
    Good day Bugman,
    Know Rev through work (BOC Georgetown) quite a character.
    The bloke who makes the pots name eludes at the moment but he works for Sims Metal at the Bay.He does a bit of fishing around the traps.Not a bad bloke always good for a chat.
    If your up this way call in to BOC or ring 63824136(home) and say good day.
    All the best
    Reidy (David Reid)

Hi mate had to go this path again sorry
    bugman ;
    good day bugman
    No worries cobber
    Looking forward to meeting you next time your up
    Reidy

Barcrusher and Suzuki would be stupid not to sponsor you. Would be great advertising. What an advertisment that would be.

good luck with it

keep us posted

fish guts

Ahhh just go for it it's not that far,when i left hobart last year i could see victoria and flinders island easily outside my aeroplane window. Hey why not go for the knock-out and go from brisbane to norfolk island.Only a few more kays .

Ive done a couple of NSW coastal deliveries in sub 23" boats. We wont exactly island hopping or going to another state ! The biggest distance between safe havens was only about 70km and we basically had land in sight most of the way. The smallest boat was a mate and I in a 21" plate with twin outboards (pic below) from Coffs Harbour to Sydney, around 500km.

We took double of some things such as a extra VHF and antenna, 2 epirbs, extra hand compass and GPS ............ and tools + odds-and-ends we saw at home that might have looked useful !. The boat had twin outboards so the whole spares concept was less critical. The chance of both motors failing at the same time was pretty slim. We still carried some spares like fuel lines and bulbs. One of the local boat shops in Coffs was meant to order in some spark plugs and Racor elements for us but didnt. So thus they got called a few names by my mate when he went to try and pick them up.

A suggestion may be to fit seacocks to any hull fitting. Even if only lower cost plastic ones, it gives you a chance to block off any entry points. They are not a bad safety thing to have even for every day use. A HF radio is a good idea, but they are pretty dear and you probably wont ever use it again. You might be able to hire some personal 406MHZ epirbs to clip onto your PFDs. You could also hire a life raft. A sea anchor, parachute flares, personal stobe lights and signal mirrors would be a good idea too. I think you can get small water proof personal flares sticks as well.

The trip you are talking about can be done in a small boat. Twin motors is definatly a preferance. The weather can be pretty nasty down there, but im sure it can go weeks at a time mirror calm too. Give your self the best chance with sensible preparation, a liferaft and personal epirbs etc. Just keep it safe and dont put other peoples lives at risk if they have to come and rescue you.

Rod

Quote Originally Posted by needaboat View Post
    G'day everyone,
    I am relatively new to this forum, I have been using Ausfish for the past year or so and think it is a great site that has provided me with a lot of information.

I am planning a trip across Bass Strait in April 08 and was after other peoples opinions of what I may need to do or buy to prepare for such a trip. My boat is a 5.6 Barcrusher with a 115 Suzuki on the back. It's only a year old and I have done a fair bit of boating in it around Sale VIC and in Tassie last Christmas, hence I feel comfortable with the boat and its abilities. I have about 20 yrs of boat experience in a range of boats up to this size.

I plan on doing it with two other Gents who have limited experience with boats but are off a farm and hence are quite handy when it comes to problem solving mechanical issues and the like.

The gear I have already is as follows:
    - 150 lt built in tanks with 4 extra 20 lt Jerry cans.
    - Navman GPS, Backup Garmin hand held GPS, Paper Charts and Compass.
    - VHF radio, Sat phone, Mob Phone, EPRIB (243 Mhz - Old tech)
    - Spare fuel filter, spark plugs, oil filter etc.
    - twin batteries
    - trim tabs
    - full offshore safety kit including flares etc.

I will only attempt the crossing when a large high pressure system is stationary in Bass Strait, hopefully giving me about 5 days of good weather. I am waiting till mid Autumn so sea breezes will not be as much of a factor. We plan to island hop from Port Albert to Cliffy Is group, Hogan Is group, Deal Is group, down the West coast of Flinders Island and finally into Bridport, taking 3 or 4 days.

Has anyone done this sort of trip before in a boat this size? or am I mad to attempt it. I plan on doing lots of future expeditions in my boat as I love being out exploring new locations.

Look forward to hearing from anyone with any advice, or speaking with anyone who would like to talk.

Hope you have not left this week 45knts nw .

G'day everyone,

Well the Bass Strait trip will have to be postponed for a few years. I have been posted to Katherine in the NT as of now (am currently in Coober Pedy on our way North). I would have loved to do the trip this month, however, it was not to be. The wife has just sighed a huge sigh of relief. It would have been very interesting attempting it now with the hurricane force winds, the sea's would be massive at the moment. On the drive today the wind was about 35 knots and that was 500 km inland from Port Augusta in SA.

Anyway I will keep the dream alive and will continue gathering ideas and safety equipment for the big journey once we return to more Southern areas. Thanks for all your input and suggestions