620 furuno on 5.2 kevlacat

Thread: 620 furuno on 5.2 kevlacat

620 furuno on 5.2 kevlacat

Hey just wondering if anybody on here has fitted a furuno 620 onto a 5.2 kevlacat. I began installing mine this arvo and the transduncer is a bit of a hard one I think ive worked out a way to fit it but its going to take a bit of modifying. Just the way the pods bolt onto the hull you obviously have to fit it to the side of the pod like the existing one. Just thought there may be an easier way Thanks if anyone can help. Deano.

Re: 620 furuno on 5.2 kevlacat

Sorry mate cant help, i stuck a 1kw inside the hull!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I'm running 2 trans. one intern and one ext. I'm not sure if you have a little recess under your pod, as that would be the ideal spot to mount the 600w. I'm not at the summer house to take a foto, but lookk under your pod and you know what i mean.
    BTW, it cheaper to get someone to fit it for you, LOL... try Grand marlin, he's sort of halfway through mine atm, yes Pete, half way.
    Humility is not a weather condition.

Didnt Kerry post a few pics a little while ago of his set up on the pod itself ?

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

in the link above Kerry's set up which was mounted to the transom as opposed to mine which you can see is up against the pod. (not that I can see Kerry's set up as his photos aren't working on my pc for some reason)

I thought of relocating it to the transom but the manual said if you actually set it back a bit it helps redirect any air bubbles away from the unit, not that I can see how an extra inch or two is going to make any difference at 20knots but there you go.

Also, I couldn't work out how to access the other side of the transom/pontoon to be able to hold the nut while I bolted the thing on. May be Kerry can shed light on how he did this???

I guess you could just screw it on but I thought they would work loose after a while.

Hope that helps in some way

cya
    ff

Thanks fellas but i reckon ive got it sussed Just got it bolted up tempary to see if it works then ill pretty it up. Ive bolted it back onto the side of the pod in the exact same position as where the original transducer was fitted. A bit of plate ally a few bolts here and there and shes sittin sweet. I'll take a pic when shes finished so as anybody else can see if they are wondering as well. Kerry pics arent working for some reason

Dean on my 5.2 I have an Airmar transducer (which yours may be) bolted into the figreglass in the middle of the sponson. I did this as it was too big to bolt to the side of the pod, as I had with my old Lowrance ducer. I have seen KCats with a sliding pole type bracket on the transom, which is probably a better idea. Mine as it is works fine. It has a kick up bracket if I hit sand etc.

I have one also, and mine is installed on a bracket next to the port pod. Works very well, and no spray etc... The local Furuno rep came out with me to set both my new plotter and sounder up, and was very impressed with the way it was attached etc. He is getting a few made up to sell .
    Trent

Sounder went great guns boys, I used lock nuts on everything so they'll never loosen. The lip under the pod on the side made it easy to install, just need another bolt in her to stop it from spinning up slightly. There a great sounder, much better than my last furuno.. Thanks for the advice boys.

Deno,

Mate how have you been , was not to bad out of ##. sorry i did nt get back to you mate been flat out and pulled in all directions. Hows that sweet rig of yours going.

Anyway as i said throw that transom mount out the window get your self an AIRMAR through hull trani, there about 65 to 70mm in diameter so perfect for you , take her down to the glass shop get the hole saw out and glass it in ....you wont be sorry.

You will be guaranteed 20 25 kts cristal clear reading picking up pinnacles and fish life like you would nt believe.

I am running a AIRMAR B260 1 KW and its a weapon (through Hull ) not a wet box.

Take it back and tell em you want the through hull trani , i think its cheaper as well so you should get some change to put towards the work needed ... should only cost about $300 or so to get fitted. The differance is amazing Deno .

Outer Edge.

G'day mate im bloody busy myself ey.. Ive already drilled two holes through this transducer so i dont think id get a refund on it Mate it will do i think for a while, well for what depth etc. that i fish in, i can always upgrade later. Love my new rig mate, will have to tee up a trip sometime. Be talkin to ya pal, Deano.

Dean any chance of posting a close up photo of your transducer set up? Mine is mounted under the pod on the transom and is causing my prop to cavitate as it is airating the water. Rang kevlacat about the problem and they said to move the transducer to the side of the pod.