ETEC 115 vs Optimax 115? - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: ETEC 115 vs Optimax 115?

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: ETEC 115 vs Optimax 115?

Mason 23 i got my etec from hinterland marine at burleigh heads on the gold coast they look after me as i've got engines before off them, but when buying it i tried shopping around but no one could come close to their prices, but since then i saw an advertisement for logan river marine that quoted prices similer to that, but if you go and see them at burleigh and say Randall sent you in for a price i'm sure they would do better than what you got quoted just ask for dave he's in charge of pricing.
    Cheers samson

I dont know that not having a belt makes the etec engine better, its just 1 less venerable thing to let go when you least expect. Oil prices, - it doesent matter what outboard you buy , you will have to buy oil for it. I would certainly look more into which dealer and extras.

Quote Originally Posted by mason23 View Post
    In the ETEC I like the advantage of minimal power required to crank the engine, and coupled with that a 133amp alternator to keep your battery charged when you're using finders and gps, lights at night etc.
    I think you should check these figures for the alternator as its states 133 amp output and 50 available to the accessories Sounds like it draws a lot of amps to keep the thing runnin...like 83 amps And it doesn't state the output at idle either

Retired Honda Master Tech

Most outboard alternators are relatively low at idle rpms but increase rapidly up to say 2000rpm. From there, the output increases a little but is more or less flat.

The advertising on the Etec DVD says (in relation to the V6's) a "muscular 50 Amp alternator".

Mason, don't forget what I posted in your other topic regarding weight. All the power in the world won't assist an older hull if the engine is too heavy. And this is a serious problem at present with new engines on old hulls.

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

If you can get the Opti for that price go for it! I paid more earlier in the year for a 90 Optimax. They have a 60 amp output alternator charger (I think I worded that right). I have a cranking battery and 2 x 130ah deep cycles (24volt setup) for electric motor. I havent put the charger on them yet (new in Feb 07). I have a special regulator which charges the cranker first then diverts to the 24v setup, charging each one at one minute intervals.

Basically what I am saying is the charging output is awesome on the optimax. The Mercury add in Qld fishing monthly reckons all other power/fuel comparisons put Optimax on top Vs Etec. They wouldn't say antything else would they!!!!

Cant fault mine. Done over 43hrs and used approx 7 litres of oil. ($69 for 10 litres was the best price I have found....If anyone knows where its cheaper feel free to tell!!!!)

Just my opinion. couple of mates have Etecs, no probs. Another friend blew up an etec at a recent bass pro event.

hope this helps. Steve

hey just some more info on your e-tec the outboards themselves can be programmed by the dealer to use either tcw 3 rated oil or the xd 100 oil the reason most dealers use the xd 100 is that the motors run more efficiently and more economical on the xd 100 oil the e -tec also have been tested and will run for up to 5 hours at idle without oil without doing major damage to the motor , the dealer can also set the rpm via the laptop so if you wanted the idle incresed or decreased it is possible to do and once it is set there is no touching of buttons etc, the e- tec s also have digital gauges available at extra cost of course that are called i command whice gives you speed over ground gps location with gps antenna of course fuel level , trim level rpm etc just like mercury smart craft gauges

hope you find this info helpful i know it was long but hope it helped i know the product well as i am a qualified marine tech working on e - tecs

Hi guys,

You're opinions are legendary Thanks for the great input. Its fantastic to learn so much from a simple thread. I'm still no closer to making a decision but at least I'm on the right track. BM, thanks for the input on weight, I've taken this into account and as a result have dismissed the proposition for a 4s, simply put, too heavy. I've got a 140HP 1400 series Merc on my Caribbean (30 years old, just like the boat, except the boat is in great condition). So I figure scaling down to a new generation 115hp 2 stroke will be okay. And so I'm told by my marine tech.

Coincidently, he recommends the ETEC over the Merc, saying the Merc's tend to be a little more fragile. And the ETEC is lighter by about 20kg I think.

A HUGE thanks to Randall, I'll be calling in tomorrow to see if they can sharpen their pencils on price.

I'm curious though with trolling, I read in a post earlier in this thread that with the Optimax smartcraft gauges you can set speed and rpm...can you do the same with the etec???

Thanks again guys.

G'day mate,

The Merc and evinrude weigh the same. The suzuki 115 is only 19kg's heavier, plus its a 4 stroke and then there is the 140 suzuki that is lighter again. If you get the chance try and see if you can get on some boats with each engine on the back to see the different charecteristics of each. I have the 115 Suzuki and have been wraped with the performance and the fuel economy has been exceptional.

I'm curious though with trolling, I read in a post earlier in this thread that with the Optimax smartcraft gauges you can set speed and rpm...can you do the same with the etec???

You can do it with any motor just by moving the throttle lever backwards and forwards. I doubt the Etec are capable of it though......

Shanoss with our twin Verados the smart craft guages it will let you select trolling speed, but only up to 1000 rpm then you take over with the controls.

the Etec nis a 4 cylinder and the Opti is a 3cylinder, surely the Etect has more bottom end power and is smoother running ?

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Julian,

A good friend of mine HAD a 75 optimax on a 475 stessl edgetracker it had about 200hrs of 'flat out' style travelling doing Bass pro tourmanents and general fishing. He got a sponsorship for a 90 Etec...and took it. The 75 Opti went faster than his 90 Etec in his words.. Now his Etec has blown up too....going flat out. I know because I witnessed it.

We are looking at repowering the full boar 5.5m with either and etec 115 or opti 115. We will be either selling or trading in the 4s merc 115hp which has less than 30hrs use. we have too much weight in the rear of the full boar and need more out of hole performance.

I spoke to Dave at Hinterland Burleigh and his price over the phone was $14200 for an etec (and reduced from $16700 using his words.) From the advice in this thread it all sounds a bit expensive and I think we would be wasting our time to get a descent trade in price. I may just have to take it in to see what he offers, but anyone looking a for a near new 4s let me know.

If I could buy the etec at $12500, I could afford to sell the MERC 4s cheaper and possibily accept previous offers.

I am leaning to an etec over an optimax based on my less than ideal experience with Nitro marine.
    Last edited by roydsy; 25-10-2007 at 08:27 AM.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Reading about these ETEC's blowing up is very scary.

But, I don't read of other donks blowing up.

WHy are the etecs blowing up and should I steer clear of these units?

If the Suzi 140HP 4s is lighter than the 150HP Etec 2s, why aren't people going for the Suzis?

SPlash

heaps of people have gone for the suzis splash. don't forget that when someone has a good experience with something they might tell a couple of people about it but when they have a bad one they'll tell 20, it's human nature. i personally have been warned off the etec's by a mechanic who reckons that the electrics on them can be a bit tempremental, by tempremental he mean't that a lot of the one's he'd fitted up worked brilliantly but every now and again he'd get one that no-one could fix and the poor old owner was stuck with it. that being said i reckon personally that the technology is awesome on the new range of di outboards.