Thread: funny burning smell

funny burning smell

MY boat has been sitting under my awning for about 3 weeks
    On sunday night which was laying across gps cable.
    So now i will order new mic but have liit lei notices a funny smell coming from outside had a look but found nothing.Onmonday afternoon i charged my batteries up as 1 batt was flat as.
    I needed to check a gps mark and found gps not workingso i checked wires from batt to buzz bar all looled ok but when i checked out wiring from gps to buzz bar all cooked including my mic from vhf radio .Ihave ordered a new mic but i think my gps has had it days only thing it has all my marks in it from 10yrs ago ,u know when you first get a new toy you never write things downso now i got to start from scratch over 500 gps marks lost. Isit amazing how things can just start like that

pete

Re: funny burning smell

Quote Originally Posted by outsiderskip View Post
    MY boat has been sitting under my awning for about 3 weeks
    On sunday night which was laying across gps cable.
    So now i will order new mic but have liit lei notices a funny smell coming from outside had a look but found nothing.Onmonday afternoon i charged my batteries up as 1 batt was flat as.
    I needed to check a gps mark and found gps not workingso i checked wires from batt to buzz bar all looled ok but when i checked out wiring from gps to buzz bar all cooked including my mic from vhf radio .Ihave ordered a new mic but i think my gps has had it days only thing it has all my marks in it from 10yrs ago ,u know when you first get a new toy you never write things downso now i got to start from scratch over 500 gps marks lost. Isit amazing how things can just start like that

pete
    Gday pete that sucks mate. Losing all ya gps marks in broken gps is harsh.In my navman plotter i have a user card i can save my marks on and keep in office but i rekon i might write them down now as well because it would set ya back years especially on deep spots. Would a new power wire power it up again?

regards wadeo

Take it to an electronics repairer and see if the data can be retrieved. It will possibly be still on the storage chip. It would be a shame to lose it all .

I copy all marks to a cdrom and store that in a fireproof safe with all my important documents and stuff.
    Also have a current stocktake cdrom too of everything i own including pics so I have no dramas in case of insurance claims. I update that bout twice a yr, when the insurance policy is due for renewal and about 6 months after that.

I reckon there's a good chance of the old girl firing up again.
    I don't think it was the unit that melted the wire. The fuse should have blown if the unit was faulty.
    I hoping this is so just so you haven't lost all those years of searching
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

this is the only unit that has no inline fuse
    i learnt the hard way

Quote Originally Posted by outsiderskip View Post
    this is the only unit that has no inline fuse
    i learnt the hard way
    Was it left on??
    If not I still reckon she could be still okky dokky.
    It would be a pretty rare occurrence for a gismo to short out internally and cause that sort of damage when not turned on.
    I hope
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Usualy means a short of the wires or the wires were too small for the length of wire and current draw.

Make sure you find out what caused it or it will happen again.

I can only imagine how frustrated you are losing a GPS and the 500 plus GPS marks, however, I think you did well not to have a fire on board...

Frank