Thread: ATOMIC PRONGs

Thumbs up ATOMIC PRONGs

Attachment 12384HI All ..... I picked up some of these today (3 inch) .... they look like a pretty decent bream / flatty SP ...... with lots of wiggly bits (much like my favorite GULP 3" Craw)
    anyhow .... Has anyone used them & what have you caught ?

The 2 colours pictured are RED PUMPKIN & SHRIMP CORE (shrimp core looks magic) ...... Nagg

Re: ATOMIC PRONGs

Yep have been using them for a while with pretty good success, you can put a lot more action into them than normal shrimp style plastics. Have been using them with with hidden weights in snags and on worm hooks over shallow weed beds. Will withstand a lot more hookups than the gulp craws will which is another bonus. ** Forgot the what have you caught bit; Jack, trevs cod and flathead lightly weighted in the snags and bream whiting flatties and trevs unweighted over weed, get good results almost using them as almost a surface style lure in this fashion they imitate a prawn skipping across the surface quite well.
    Last edited by budge; 08-09-2007 at 04:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by budge View Post
    Yep have been using them for a while with pretty good success, you can put a lot more action into them than normal shrimp style plastics. Have been using them with with hidden weights in snags and on worm hooks over shallow weed beds. Will withstand a lot more hookups than the gulp craws will which is another bonus. ** Forgot the what have you caught bit; Jack, trevs cod and flathead lightly weighted in the snags and bream whiting flatties and trevs unweighted over weed, get good results almost using them as almost a surface style lure in this fashion they imitate a prawn skipping across the surface quite well.
    Thanks Budge ..... I didn't realise that they could be versatile .... But I had no doubt that they would have improved longevity over the Craws ..... Today was the first time I've seen them in a shop ...... do they come in a 4 or 5 inch version ? ...... Nagg
    PS .... Hmmm ... Jacks hey . ... Might throw them into a few snags up at Hinchinbrook next month

Yep mate 3 and 4 inch models are available electric chicken colour has been my favourite so far.

I too have the electric chicken prongs....the trevally and Jacks love them.

Quote Originally Posted by Pistol_P View Post
    I too have the electric chicken prongs....the trevally and Jacks love them.

Electric Chicken .... Is that like Gulps Atomic Chicken ? ... Nagg

the gulp is called nucular chicken and the prong is electric chicken.
    i have caught some awsome bream on them and have used all the colours but my favourite being caralona pumpkin then shrimp core.
    the 4 prong goes well on snapper.

Quote Originally Posted by breamnut View Post
    the gulp is called nucular chicken and the prong is electric chicken.
    i have caught some awsome bream on them and have used all the colours but my favourite being caralona pumpkin then shrimp core.
    the 4 prong goes well on snapper.
    ATOMIC .. NUCLEAR .... ? whats an atom or two amongst friends ... Nagg

Well I am hoping that my Prong does the goods tomorrow! With all the bits that wiggle, jiggle and flap around, they should tempt something into having a chomp! *fingers crossed* I will have something to post.

I liked the look of the Prong more than the Gulp Shrimp...more life-like, cheaper and looks to have more "action"

Mike L

PS - who comes up with A) some of the wicked colours, and B) the names for them! "I whipped out my electric chicken prong..." sounds a bit dodgy if you ask me!

Yeh .... I thought it looked a fair bit better than the Gulp shrimp (I like the translucence & the pliability ! ..... The Gulp is fairly rigid) ...... I reckon they just might make a decent Bass SP I'll flick a few up at Cania next month .... Nagg

and of course....Flathead love them.

Great lures. I use them on the surface for bream mainly but they work a treat slow rolling for bass or floated into the snags for the red devils.

Cheers Whytey

Quote Originally Posted by Why-ting View Post
    Great lures. I use them on the surface for bream mainly but they work a treat slow rolling for bass or floated into the snags for the red devils.

Cheers Whytey
    Whytey ..... I was thinking just that! ( as you put it ... THE RED DEVILS) ... I plan to use them up at Hinchinbrook next month Do you use the 4" ? .... & what colour would you suggest .... Nagg
    PS .... I reckon these would be great on shutdown , sulking fish

I picked up some 4" (Carolina Pumpkin Holo) today . Plan to throw these weightless into the Hinchinbrook snags ... Then if I do no good .... EAT THEM ... these look good ........ Even the kids were impressed when they saw them tonight ...... Nagg

fished with them in fiji the reefys loved them fish were climbing all over them. cheers bdowdy