Thread: Faulty Taco?

Faulty Taco?

Hi Guys,
    I have just purchased a second-hand boat and motor (Yamaha 60hp oil injected). I took it out for its first run on Sunday. Just wanted to ask if anyone may know the reason why the taco is staying on 7000rpm's while the motor is running, regardless of speed. It sits on 0 when switched off, so i am assuming that the needle is not sticking. When i start the motor up, it jumps to 7000 and stays there.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Faulty Taco?

Pete,

can't really answer your problem, but with mine, (Evinrude 70 HP) I used to get the opposite. I'd be buzzing along and it would got to 0. Turned out that the cable from the donk goes into the back of the throttle box and I was leaning my elbow on the cable and disconnecting it partly. Now don't lean on it.

Suspect yours is an electrical problem. Hope the answer is as simple as cleaning a contact in the cable or the throttle box.

Pete,
    What type is the taco,analog,or digital?
    Finga,or Marlin this one might be up your alley.
    David

Quote Originally Posted by PeteM View Post
    Faulty taco

mate, ive had a few of these, the missus wasnt impressed.
    ive always seemed to be able to mis the kebab stand and up with a mexican rumble!!!!!!!!

sorry, i was no help......... carry on!!!!!

Question first.
    When the ignition is on but the motor is not running does the taco say 70000000 revs??
    Ooops bit of a typo
    If so quite possibly wired incorrectly (ie there's a power feed wire on the taco instead of the pulse wire) from a really rough guess or crook taco or it bloody revs really well and quietly.
    Hard to say from my limited knowledge.
    there's some smarter people then I here
    BM would most probably know off the top of his head
    Last edited by finga; 08-09-2007 at 07:28 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Finga,whem he starts the motor up,it jumps to 7000rpm.
    David

Quote Originally Posted by dnej View Post
    Finga,whem he starts the motor up,it jumps to 7000rpm.
    David
    Yep, that's why I asked does it do it just when the ignition is on without the motor running.
    Sometimes people don't notice if things are happening between the start of the turning of the key and when it's running. (does that make sense??)
    And if so it could be incorrect wiring of the taco.
    It's never worked for old matey a few things to investigate before the possible tossing of the taco.
    Just chasing symptoms.
    Also check and see which setting the taco is set on. There are a few settings on the back of the tacho.
    Cheers then
    Last edited by finga; 08-09-2007 at 07:18 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

i have a second hand digital tacho to suit if u require one pm me if i can help thanks cr

hmmmm, a faulty taco,and mixed with a few,several, ok lots of new stubbies and i have had flames from my arse. apart from that i cant help you. its one of those nights hey......go the swans........go you sea eagles yeah

Get your point Finga.Maybe Pete hasnt noticed,exactly when it happens.
    Are you out there Pete.
    David

Cactus tacho would be my assessment. Can you borrow a tach from someone to test the theory? Most modern tachs use a 3 wire input. 12V, GND and signal (typically from the rectifier/regulator).

Toss a multimeter on your battery when the engine is running and see if you are charging your battery correctly. Let us know what you get as a DC reading at idle and at say 2500rpm. (And also what the battery static voltage is, ie everything off). This tells us if your charging circuit is working. Tacho problems can often be linked back to dead reccy/regs.

Thanks for all the replies guys, including the ones about dodgy food...should of guessed i would have coped those.
    Sorry i haven't replied sooner, had my hands full with the arrival of our new baby boy.
    It is an analog taco, not digital. I checked it out today, and the needle goes to the max when the key is turned to start, not when the motor starts. I hadn't paid much attention to it on the sunday, and assumed it was doing it when the motor starts.
    Finga, I will have a good look at the wiring tomorrow, and the settings at the back (what should they be set on?)
    BM, will also check on the battery, it was flat, and i needed to jump start to get the motor running...maybe that could be the cause?
    Thanks Guys,

If the tacho has any settings on it (often the yam ones dont) it should be set to 6 pulse.

When you say 7000rpm is the needle hovering at that point or is it effectively just going to the full scale setting?

Hi BM,
    The needle just swings from "0" swiftly to 7000, or as far as it can move.

Hi Guys,
    Checked the settings, it was on 6P. I pushed a couple of wires around. There was a round rubber stopper with 3 wires going thru it. I was able to push this in about 1/4 inch. Started the motor up, and hey presto......problem solved...tacho now works fine. Should of had a good look at it first, just assumed it was a major fault.
    Thanks for all the input.