Thread: Hinze Bass Hit Puberty! -Cracker of a month!

Hinze Bass Hit Puberty! -Cracker of a month!

Hey there everyone.

Well its been an awesome couple of months to fish the Dam. A combination of stunning scenery, sunrises, mist on the water, and excellent fishing.

The lil' buggers seem to have finally taken growth hormones and for the first time since I've fished the dam you occasionally need more than 4lb braid ...... and we've even had a few bust ups!! The bass seem to have developed a taste for barred grunter and have been splurting them up in the boat. Toppy even managed to hook a grunter on one treble and a Bass around 50cm on the other!! (We reckon that was cheating as He was using live bait!! )

Thanks to the hard work of a mate of mine (Mitch Calcutt - son of the late Ron Calcutt) we've had fantastic fishing with some sessions scoring in excess of 30 solid fish in a few hours! Mitch almost singlehandedly sussed out these fish over the winter months, working out their location, feeding habits, lure techniques and prime times. He let a few selective hints come our way (which I don't mind passing on here) but the truth is if you don't work some stuff out yourself its just not as rewarding ..... so don't ask me to give ALL of Mitch's tricks away fellas!!!

Without a doubt our mate Aykut has been "The Slayer" lately, prostituting himself around and fishing the dam with everyone (no matter how ugly), almost every moment he's not working, and even some days when he is!! He's seemed to have nailed the technique though, and rarely went without scoring plenty of fish. Shame He choked recently when He took his father out and tried to impress him in front of us.

There have been fish up to 54 cm caught there this year, and one day Ben Job got absolutely smashed in 4 feet of water with a spectacular stitch up 2 seconds later! Not often in the past would One be absolutely smoked by a bass in hinze dam. Fishing the surface this summer might result in quite a few spectacular annihilations in the sticks with fish of this size.

Good fish have come from both western and eastern parts of the dam, with the proven winter pattern being hopping lures near the bottom .... nothing new for bass crew I'm sure. Lures were vibration lipless lures, jackalls and softies such as squidgie fish in white and black/gold, and sliders. Recently there has been action on the surface and mid water though, and I expect the strategies and locations for catching these bass is about to change again, as always happens with change of seasons and week to week.

Thanks to Paul Topp, Ben Job, Mitch Calcutt and Greeny for letting me fish on their boats. (unfortunately I can't take mine up there due to the 130kg polluting motor on the back!!). As you can see from the photo of Toppy's boat, fishing with Toppy was rather a frugal affair, with his "Bass on a Budget" rig being just a little too rough & simplistic for my liking!

I think it could do with a pole in the middle for the gold coast girls to snake around all covered in tanning oil ..... Errrrrr I digress!!

Enjoy the pics people!
    Last edited by Franco; 04-09-2007 at 05:38 PM.

Re: Hinze Bass Hit Puberty! -Cracker of a month!

Rock On!! (Man why does a reply have to be a minimum of 10 characters!??)

dfghsfhfffffffffffffffffffffffff

some nice bass franco,mitch said hes been getting some cracker fish there lately may have to do a day after the classic. cheers bdowdy....brett

Thanks for sharing Franco..great photo's too.

Some top looking fish there mate and the water looks great to.

cheers virty

hey little grey men i love your avatar, done much cod fishing.cheers bdowdy

Quote Originally Posted by bdowdy View Post
    hey little grey men i love your avatar, done much cod fishing.cheers bdowdy
    Yeah mate, I grew up fishing the Condamine.I live in Brisbane now. I got my first one when I was five. I remember when I was a kid, we'd pull out a cod and think "cool...a cod" Now we smile for a week if we get one.
    My family still lives out there so I get to fish it about every two months. Not many cod out there now, but if you look hard enough you can still find them. Good old yellowbelly are still swimming around though.
    The restocking programs are starting to pay off, around ten years ago you couldn't find any out there.Slowly getting better.
    I'm heading out there in ten day's, my Dad's met an old cocky who has a "cod hole" on his property, supposed to be close to 30ft deep with heaps of timber..hmmm should be interesting.

great stuff lgm i think there agreat fish i am lucky to live in tenterfield where its nothing for me to catch up to 20 cod in a session. just love surface fishing for them, good luck when you head out and let us know how you go. cheers bdowdy. PS.... SORRY FRANCO FOR INTERUPTING YOUR POST.

Yeah sorry Franco

Sorry about the boat being so shabby franco, I should have the toe warmer & coffee machine installed at the same time as the pole. The girls from the Pink Pussycat said you'll need to supply the oil!

Toppy

Hey Boys don't worry about stealing our thunder!! LOL just kidding!

Photos are courtesy of Toppy and Aykut as my camera broke due to it being a useless piece of Olympus trash ......... oh ..... and I dropped it onto the concrete driveway as well ........ Actually it was a really bloody nice camera but I'm trying to come to terms with its loss!

PS needless to say all fish released

hey great report franco,
    looks like the bass are really firing up there at the moment,

just wondered have you caught anything other than bass particularly in the last month, ie: yellas/silvers/toga

i fished hinze over 20 times last summer and caught a heap of fish,
    but only bass,

i know its been stocked with others but rarely hear of anything else being caught,

The only other thing we've caught is one yellowbelly (Ben Job) ....

Oh .... and I almost caught frostbite on my fingers one morning when it was absolutely f#$@ing freezing!!! How on earth do those guys fish for trout without gloves in Jindabyne?!!!