Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Soft Plastics (hinchinbrook)

Re: Soft Plastics (hinchinbrook)

yay, some constructive words, you know there is only one word in amongsed all these posts that matters, well two, holiday and beers, cant wait to get there and chill out.,

nomad, we will be on vhf channel 21 most the time, call us up,

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Good on ya NAGG Have a safe trip. Look forward to you report. Sent you a PM.

cheers steve
    no problems Steve .... Returned your PM
    Nagg

Steve B,
    look forward to catching up with you, hope the weather and water temp pick up a bit....good chance it will.....a couple of weeks can make all the difference!!

cdg81,
    I have a vhf on board,so will deffo give you a call.

Sounds like we should have the area covered guys!!!

Look out Hinchinbrook, Ausfish is comin to town

Nomad

Squidgie Slick rigs.......................the big ones. Enjoy.

Richie

Quote Originally Posted by cdg81 View Post
    yay, some constructive words, you know there is only one word in amongsed all these posts that matters, well two, holiday and beers, cant wait to get there and chill out.,

nomad, we will be on vhf channel 21 most the time, call us up,
    holiday & beer is only one word in reality ....Nagg

Quote Originally Posted by richieboy View Post
    Squidgie Slick rigs.......................the big ones. Enjoy.

Richie
    Richie ..... But how big ......... Don't tease now

NaggAttachment 12354 ..... some of mine ........ But I still think a snagless or Texan rigged SP would be more effective

HI ALL ..... Even though this is a SP thread ....... since most participants have an interest in fishing Hinchinbrook I thought I might post a pic of my GO TO Hard body lures for the Hinchinbrook snags (Some have caught fish & some look like they will ) ....... Anyhow tell me what you think & maybe even post some pics of your own . .... Nagg
    PS ..... This is about half of my casting lure collection & doesnt include the bigger trolling / impoundment lures (vipers , barrabaits , reidys & of course BOMBERS!!! )
    PPS ...... Since I'm off work enjoying the APEC long weekend ..... I'll put together some photos of the SPs I'll be offering to the Snags
    Attachment 12355

The flatrats are good they worked for me are the top left hand corner ones c lures?Also i would go and buy some little lucifers and some livley lures in a green colour and make sure you get some b52 and bombers in the shallow divers and deep divers in gold and green.

Mate if you want to buy some lures then have a talk to lucinda lures he is a member here and gives plenty of advice with the sale of lures
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Attachment 12356I reckon these will be the first 3 offerings to the snags ...... Weightless (the power minnow is 4") /// Anyone got an opinion on the best heavy worm hooks (I've used Gamakatsu in the photo but I feel that they will be staightened pretty quickly by any jack or cod ..... May be OK on a smallish barra ........... ..... Nagg

Quote Originally Posted by jackextracter View Post
    The flatrats are good they worked for me are the top left hand corner ones c lures?Also i would go and buy some little lucifers and some livley lures in a green colour and make sure you get some b52 and bombers in the shallow divers and deep divers in gold and green.
    Jackextractor .... shallow divers like these Attachment 12358

Yep the two Flatz rats worked really well on my last trip to Hinchinbrook .... Sadly a pink one was retired due to damage from cod ... The purple one shows it scars from one session (I have a gold one which I reckon could be a winner) ........ The C lures were purchased after that trip (but they look the goods to me .... & I think a local makes/made them ..... Nagg
    PS Thankx for your comments
    PPS ..... I will catch up with Luigi when I'm up there

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Richie ..... But how big ......... Don't tease now

NaggAttachment 12354 ..... some of mine ........ But I still think a snagless or Texan rigged SP would be more effective

130mm +. I'm fishing 170mm squidgies in 50ft + water. Don't be surprised.

Richie

Quote Originally Posted by richieboy View Post
    130mm +. I'm fishing 170mm squidgies in 50ft + water. Don't be surprised.

Richie
    Richie .... 130mm seems pretty big to throw into a snag (1-3M) .... Nagg

Steve i do upgrade to hooks on my prawnstars..Another trick my cousin(sorry dave...another beer on the tab) has got me on to is putting a couple of beads in between the hooks in the body cavatity to stop the lure getting stuck on its self when you do a flick.. it works a treat and does add to the lure...orange beads makes it look like carrying eggs or glow in the dark green in deeper water or late afternoon for a bit of extra spice.. has stopped the problem totally of getting caught up..

great idea poppers, was brainstorming what i could do to prevent this. would add a smidgin of weight, but wouldn't sink like a stone. prodlem solvered