Thread: Coff's Harbour, Land based with sp's

Coff's Harbour, Land based with sp's

Hey guys,

I dont really do much saltwater fishing, i pretty much only fish for bass in the dam and river. But i will be heading down to coffs harbour next weekend early friday morning and will be able to fish land based on friday, saturday and sunday so i want to try and get some fish on sp's (particularly bream) and flathead. So where are the best spots land based? and is there much chance of getting some around now?

Cheers, Dave

Re: Coff's Harbour, Land based with sp's

Havent fished the area for a while but theres not much in the way of close estuaries mate, theres a small creek near the pet porpoise pool that opens up and i would suspect it would hold some good flattys and have seen good catches of whiting come from it.
    Only thing is i wouldnt be too quick about keeping much from it as there are alot of chemical runoff from the banana farms that sneaks into that creek. Probably nothing to bad but worth a thought. Ask the local tackle stores down there.
    If you have transport, try the south wall on the bay side, ive pulled some good sized bream there on both hardbodies and baits. It is a dangerous wall to fish off though and i wouldnt reccomend trying it on your own.

Quote Originally Posted by mattooty View Post
    Havent fished the area for a while but theres not much in the way of close estuaries mate, theres a small creek near the pet porpoise pool that opens up and i would suspect it would hold some good flattys and have seen good catches of whiting come from it.
    Only thing is i wouldnt be too quick about keeping much from it as there are alot of chemical runoff from the banana farms that sneaks into that creek. Probably nothing to bad but worth a thought. Ask the local tackle stores down there.
    If you have transport, try the south wall on the bay side, ive pulled some good sized bream there on both hardbodies and baits. It is a dangerous wall to fish off though and i wouldnt reccomend trying it on your own.

hi, the creek he's referring to is called coffs creek, and yes there are a few nice flattie in there. i have only fished it a few times near coffs creek bridge of a night and done alright but DON'T EAT IT
    i think they even have signs up saying not to eat fish caught in there now due to chemicals in the water
    try in the harbour jetty areas lots of pylons and structure might be good for a bream, the last time a had a try in there at night picked up 3 tailor in my lunch break just flicking around

I've done alright on plastics in the marina area, and also off the end of the point at the boat ramp, cast towards the red marker buoy. At this time of year you'll get Trevally, Bream and flathead, sometimes tailor. I have seen GT's in the marina in the order of 5kg, weren't eating though!

You are lucky coming down this weekend though, as Andrew Ettinghausen will be here, as will the two Dans and I am sure a number of other celeb fishos will show up for the Dave Irvine Memorial Snapper Comp.

Kewl, thats awsome. Im not fishing for a feed so the chemicals in the water wont worry me. But i will most likely go and fish around the marina area like ben suggested anyway. Im picking up my new rod (g.loomis dropshot dsr820s) from ######## on the way down, so i want to test it out with sp's!

Cheers, Dave

How far is the boat ramp from the marina?

Hi BP.
    Bear in mind the weather and seas are likely to be very rough this week-end.
    Be very careful if you intend to fish anywhere near the ocean rocks, or the outer harbour/south wall, could be quite a sea on.

G'Day BP

Mate october is the best month down there for big flatties in esturies, so you are pretty close time wise.

Try Moonee creek about 20k north of Coffs, its pretty silted up these days but is a really good creek to wade up and throw lures, top half of the tide on either side would be the go as it has very little water on the low. Bottom of the runout is also good right at the mouth for good size flatties. Go right to the end of the reserve and walk accross the bridge then along the bank (southside). You can eat fish out of this creek no worries.

On the southside try Boambee creek same tactics as above.

Check your marine parks out though, its been a while since i fished down there.

Hope this helps

Quote Originally Posted by bass-pirate View Post
    Kewl, thats awsome. Im not fishing for a feed so the chemicals in the water wont worry me. But i will most likely go and fish around the marina area like ben suggested anyway. Im picking up my new rod (g.loomis dropshot dsr820s) from ######## on the way down, so i want to test it out with sp's!

Cheers, Dave
    Don't pay any more than the catalogue price of $459 when you do either!

Oh yeah, while you are in the shop take a look at the shaky head SHR821 which is rated to half the casting weight, which is important with plastics, DS rods are usually rated higher as they aren't meant for working a plastic rigged on a jighead, rather for drop shotting, or plastics on a paternoster, hence the recommended casting weight of 1/8-3/8oz for the DSR820s. It's up to you of course, but I throw a lot of 1/32 -1/16 and wormhook rigged plastics and so need the lightest weight rating I can get.

The boat ramp is directly across the harbour from the marina.

The seas are forecast to be coming from the ESE so you should be good off the northwall. There will be salmon and bream off there, the salmon are great fun on light gear.

The marine park isn't an issue if you stay in the coffs locality, only north of Moonee does it affect any landbased fishing.