• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tangles
    Ausfish Addict

• May 2006

Nice Cod off Peel

Went out with bec this morning, nice day out there and wanted to try out a new rod floating pillies. Fished both sp's and bait but today bait was better. Got a lot of undersized squire and a couple of just legal but they where thrown back.

Mid morning I was having smoko having a chat to bec, had 2 rods out, one bait the other placcie, both just drifting , the bait rod went off so I started winding, then Bec said your other rod was on.

The other fish didnt feel that big so bugger it, I grabbed the placcie rod and pulled in a nice fat 52cm cod, I did nothing, it committed suicide on a Zoom Rainbow Shad. Tried a heap of gulps, nuc chook/ lime tigers etc, nothing, what placcies worked today was the zooms and the ole pillie...top day

mike
    Tangles KFC

• Poodroo
    Ausfish Addict

• Oct 2005

Re: Nice Cod off Peel

He's looking a little cold in there Mike. Hey nice fish mate. Well done. Good to see you getting some use out of your new investment. When Bec tires a little bit of going out feel free to give me a call and tee up a trip. Well done.

sigpic

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Comment

• Aquarius
      • Sep 2001

Nice Cod that will go down well with some chips and a coldie.
      You can't go wrong using the Zooms.
      Cheers Brent

Comment

• Steven78
        Ausfish Gold Member
        • Feb 2005

Nice Cod, Those Rainbow shads do work really well as the water gets more cloudy. What size Leader are you using?

Comment

• bayfisher
          Ausfish Gold Member

• Jul 2002

I'd rather a tasty cod over a snapper any day. Good munching at that size too.

Cheers Chris

Comment

• Tangles
            Ausfish Addict

• May 2006

Steve, today tried 12- 14 lbs, 1/6 3.0s around Peel, also tried some new braid today, very very impressed, Sunline PE cast away; have been using the fireline crystal on other reels, thats going to change, the Sunline stuff is magic,

mike
            Tangles KFC

Comment

• loophole

• Jun 2007

looks like that cod fits perfectly into your esky. nice fish and youl get a good feed there.
              "True Blue"

Comment

Working...
              X