-
Ausfish Addict
Nice Cod off Peel
Went out with bec this morning, nice day out there and wanted to try out a new rod floating pillies. Fished both sp's and bait but today bait was better. Got a lot of undersized squire and a couple of just legal but they where thrown back.
Mid morning I was having smoko having a chat to bec, had 2 rods out, one bait the other placcie, both just drifting , the bait rod went off so I started winding, then Bec said your other rod was on.
The other fish didnt feel that big so bugger it, I grabbed the placcie rod and pulled in a nice fat 52cm cod, I did nothing, it committed suicide on a Zoom Rainbow Shad. Tried a heap of gulps, nuc chook/ lime tigers etc, nothing, what placcies worked today was the zooms and the ole pillie...top day
mike
-
Ausfish Addict
-
Re: Nice Cod off Peel
Nice Cod that will go down well with some chips and a coldie.
You can't go wrong using the Zooms.
Cheers Brent
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Nice Cod, Those Rainbow shads do work really well as the water gets more cloudy. What size Leader are you using?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
I'd rather a tasty cod over a snapper any day. Good munching at that size too.
Cheers Chris
-
Ausfish Addict
Steve, today tried 12- 14 lbs, 1/6 3.0s around Peel, also tried some new braid today, very very impressed, Sunline PE cast away; have been using the fireline crystal on other reels, thats going to change, the Sunline stuff is magic,
mike
-
looks like that cod fits perfectly into your esky. nice fish and youl get a good feed there.