Thread: Nice Cod off Peel

Nice Cod off Peel

Went out with bec this morning, nice day out there and wanted to try out a new rod floating pillies. Fished both sp's and bait but today bait was better. Got a lot of undersized squire and a couple of just legal but they where thrown back.

Mid morning I was having smoko having a chat to bec, had 2 rods out, one bait the other placcie, both just drifting , the bait rod went off so I started winding, then Bec said your other rod was on.

The other fish didnt feel that big so bugger it, I grabbed the placcie rod and pulled in a nice fat 52cm cod, I did nothing, it committed suicide on a Zoom Rainbow Shad. Tried a heap of gulps, nuc chook/ lime tigers etc, nothing, what placcies worked today was the zooms and the ole pillie...top day

mike

Re: Nice Cod off Peel

He's looking a little cold in there Mike. Hey nice fish mate. Well done. Good to see you getting some use out of your new investment. When Bec tires a little bit of going out feel free to give me a call and tee up a trip. Well done.

Nice Cod that will go down well with some chips and a coldie.
    You can't go wrong using the Zooms.
    Cheers Brent

Nice Cod, Those Rainbow shads do work really well as the water gets more cloudy. What size Leader are you using?

I'd rather a tasty cod over a snapper any day. Good munching at that size too.

Cheers Chris

Steve, today tried 12- 14 lbs, 1/6 3.0s around Peel, also tried some new braid today, very very impressed, Sunline PE cast away; have been using the fireline crystal on other reels, thats going to change, the Sunline stuff is magic,

mike

looks like that cod fits perfectly into your esky. nice fish and youl get a good feed there.
    "True Blue"