The chocolate Noosa River

Thread: The chocolate Noosa River

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

The chocolate Noosa River

Thought I'd try for a fish this morning in the still very, very brown and very , very fresh Noosa River.

You can drink the water around the Tewantin and Gympie Terrace area it's that fresh with only a hint of salt taste. I've heard of a few bream being caught and that's about it.
    Worked pretty hard flicking Sp's for only 1 touch all morning!
    Landed a beautiful Diamond Trevally of 38cm on a 2" Baby Shrimp in New Penny.

The water is still ripping out real quick, the bar has moved right over to the north side, all the channels have changed, the Frying Pan area has finally broken through.
    The bar itself is pretty unstable, submerged dead trees are in the bar channel itself making crossings pretty daunting at the moment.

I know of 2 boats with very capable skippers that went out this morning, both said they shouldn't have gone out. One of the boats came back with a shattered windscreen and also hit a submeged tree and the other came back with his bag of Snapper to 7kg.

I'm on hols for another week so I'm hoping the river fires next week.

Cheers Jeff.

Re: The chocolate Noosa River

Hey Jeff,

Yeah...I went outside yesterday with mate Ben....Bar was just ok but the run out to hards was a long long run....Took us 2 hours at 12knots banging through the terrible sloppy conditions.... .....We only managed 12 nice snapper/squire and 5 pearlies.....Very hard fishing conditions with 20knots S/E......

My body is feeling it today!!!!

At least you got a nice diamond in the river...Better than most at the moment.

Yeah I've seen Bens post Pete.

You two have had some good trips outside lately, good work mate, keep it up!

Jeff

Thats a very exotic looking fish, are they common round Noosa area ?
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post
    Thats a very exotic looking fish, are they common round Noosa area ?
    I suppose they are reasonably common, but in saying that, you don't see too many if you understand what I mean.

They are more common in the winter months, they are my favourite Trevally.

They are beautiful looking fish, they are exotic looking aren't they??

I've had a purple patch with them this winter, I've caught 6 to date, all on SP's.

Cheers Jeff.

Nice work jeff. I imagine you noosa trev boys will be looking forward to the next couple of weeks. Still a few flatties biting round brissie. You might have to go for a wander mate. Cheers. Keith....

Lucky bugger, I wish I could catch more of them. They're such a pretty fish and a great fight too.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Love the persistance Jeff, no matter what the conditions your havin a go, the diamond trevs a just reward, well done.
    JOHN 21:3

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Lovely diamond Jeff. Gee they are a speccy fish and do go hard on the light stuff. Well done.
    Ash got in touch with me and as it turns out she's just up the road. I let her know that if you are ever down that neck of the woods to give her a yell and we'll organise a tour for ya on Australia's finest.
    We got our Airshow coming up very soon so keep it in mind if you are around.
    As for the fishing, I would like to hit the Noosa before I depart for Darwin at the end of the year so I'll be in touch champ if you are free. Get into em. I'll be working tonight.......Some big event in Bris Vegas tonight. See ya there Murph!

Rich

Quote Originally Posted by Creek Vermin View Post
    Nice work jeff. I imagine you noosa trev boys will be looking forward to the next couple of weeks. Still a few flatties biting round brissie. You might have to go for a wander mate. Cheers. Keith....
    Bloody oath Keith we're looking forward to the next couple of weeks, we're all hoping that this flood will turn back the clock to 4-5 years ago. Trevally Mayhem!!!
    Still if I have to wander, I might just wander down to my old stomping ground of Roys Road, if I do I'll let you know.

Rich, Just send a PM mate when you want to hit Noosa. I'll be up for it.

Cheers Jeff.

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

sweet fish jeff
    figjam :wink:

nice diamond mate , i think there one of the best trevs out there my biggest is around the 70cm mark and they just fight so hard.

hey boys,
    went up to noosa monday and tuesday,hoping the fresh may be a little saltier but not alot, like old mate said, u could just about drink it at munna point bridge. we threw lures all monday arvo but to no avail, so tuesday we got up decided on giving the livies ago, got to a little spot in woods, theres a little hole abit bigger than the boat that seems to produce, threw 2 livies out each side and BANG fish on while still setting up last rods, my mate was on to a nice gt, while watching him, both mine went off then lastly his, ended up droppin the 4th, 3 fish literally in first 2 minutes, only had about a dozen herring resulting in 9 gts from 45 to about 20cm by 630am, great times. my mate then took his missus back out around lunch time, gave woods a troll and put her on to a nice big eye over 60cm, gave her a good run on light gear. you can check it out apparently next week in your local paper up there or on davos website. it was a nice fish. no wonder we love driving up there from brissie for a good fish!!!
    take care guys,
    CAN DO

perseverance pays off nice fish jeff
    love the diamonds ive had a heap of follows by them but no hook ups yet ill get 1 one day

Cheers Shin
    Last edited by shin25; 06-09-2007 at 05:50 PM.

Wink Re: The chocolate Noosa River

Yeah Nice Diamond Trev's has anyone heard what's been happening in Noosa this past week with all the fresh lot of rain around thinking about heading up over the weekend.