PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Spinnerbaits-What, how, when, why?
I have never fished these before so I am after a few pointers on firstly, Which type, How do you work them and basically any more info....I will be buying a few next week with the $50 I won from my brother reguarding his thought that the Titans would make the top 8....Ha-Ha He should have bet me Souths would make it, I would have gone $100!!!
P.S. I fished with a guy once who had a little stinger hook attached to the hook with a small piece of rubber....anyone know this, and how is it done? Thanks, Sean
mate spinnerbaits are great, fish for cod with them and the best thing is that they flutter as they drop so they work before you start your retrieveas were a normal lure is moving away from the target zone before it gets going. stinger hooks can be added for fish that are abit weary i use a piece of milk bottle plastic the bit that you break when opening the bottle and cut it into tiny pieces so it gos on the hook and stops the stinger from riding up, lately ive been using chatterbaits and mummblers which are even better i think than spinnerbaits they have a small metal bib in front of a jig spinnerbait that vibrates unreal, caught heaps of fish on them.spinnerbiats and so on come in all different weights and blades so it will depend on what you are after BUT HAVE FUN YOU WILL CATCH FISH. cheers bdowdy
Sean,
Spinnerbaits have been proven fish takers for years and years. You can work them many different ways. It doesn't take much speed to get the blades spinning. Yellowbelly and Bass love them. I fish with two rod's in freshwater. One is always rigged with a spinner. You can roll them over snags. But the stinger hook will mean a few more snags. They can be rigged with a plastic as well.
There's a heap of good ones out there. The colours are fairly straight forward. Darker baits for dirty water. If your going to grab some it's probably a good idea to go for the middle weight heads. I use a lot of SMAK spinners as they have a stinger attached.
What fish will you be going after ?
Anything from Bassman, SMAK. Auspin. There's heaps to choose from. I usually go for sizes around 1/2oz. I fish from the bank and that size gets me a good enough distance. You can go much heavier but I don't like making a big splash after casting.
I am a big spinnerbait fan- TT's, Bassman and Smak are all good ones, 3/8 through 3/4 are all good weights depending on where your fishing and where the fish are hanging.
Excellent around snags as they usually roll over them. Easiest way to work them is to cast out, let the lure sink, then slowly retrive the spinnerbait, doing nothing to the rod to impart action on the lure. They send out vibrations and flash when worked slowly and can attract fish from quite a distance.
Cheapest way to buy stingers is to get Gamakatsu Saltwater Fly Hooks in about a No. 8. Slide them over the hook on the spinnerbait and fix with a small peice of plastic tuing like the airline used for fishtanks.
Ahh... Spinnerbaits. My favourite lure to fish with. They look so good when they are retrieved, and their size always means they will nab the bigger fish. I fish with Bassman's up here for Sooty Grunter, however in the past I always did OK with the Kokoda King Spins. I use fairly light weighted Spinnerbaits, usually 1/4oz or 3/8's as they are a bit easier to retrieve and don't foul up as much. Take mind in the blade set up also on the Spinnerbaits... the less blades, the deeper the Spinnerbait will run - The more Blades (Trifecta's) the shallower they will run, hence why I don't fish with anything over 3/8'oz. Remember to keep your Rod tip low to run them a shade deeper and when you feel a fish, strike son!!!!
Here is a pic of a recent Spinnerbait I have done some work with of late. It is a Bassman Double Col. 1/4oz in Avocado Green. I have added a 4'' Tail Paddle plastic which works absolutely beautifully by itself as a Plastic, but again I find if you add something to these lures for the fish to look at they will have a crack at it. I have used a slither of a plastic grub as a 'stopper'... doesn't seem to have an effect on hook exposure as I thought it would have. I havn't added a Stinger on this baby which I should really do. I lost a massive Sooty on the weekend with this set up however the fish was very well hooked, I just had no way of lip grabbing the fish up a 5m Rock ledge.
hey sean,
mat i am pissed of cause i wroyte like two pages then it deleted it , so simple form i use spinnerbaits in structure such as submerged trees so leader is a mut because braid and trees dont mix so i suggest a flourocarbon or clear mon will do the job but when it comes to spinnerbaiting try using braided lines from 10lb to 16lb because it will handle it alot better and i donrt just use spinnerbaits in the trees weedbeds and dropoffs are fantastic but remember whenever i am bassin i use flourocarbon non stop and i highly suggest you buy some because it will improve the way you fish hope this helps mate ,
BTW Basskid, I don't really think you need a haircut, I'm just jimmying in on all the other funny F*****s out there that seem to think it is funny!!
Thanks Virty.
Basskid, you said to use 10-16lb line....does that mean 6 or 8lb line is too light for these to work well?? or just heavier line stuffs them up? And yes, I always use flurocarbon traces anyway....was just asking.
Another thing to look out for is the blade configuration...
Willow blades (longer style) will allow the spinnerbait to get down deeper, but the blades give off less vibration. Whereas Colorado blades (round ones) give off more vibration but travel higher in the water table (easy way to fix this is just allow it to sink more after casting).
Also gold blades are better off in murkier water and the silver blades are sweet in the clearer waters.
With the weights, I tend to stick with middle of the range weights...that way you can fish them shallow if you want to, but wait a while for them to sink to the depth you want to fish if you are seeking out deeper holding fish.
If you cant get the airline (as suggested earlier) to use for the stinger hooks, just get a milk bottle and a hole punch and use that...works a treat for me. But I agree with what was said before and the best stinger hook...saltwater Gamakatzu flyhooks are the ideal hook for this.