-
7" nuclear chicken 7"camo 7"crystal shad
sitting here on my computer reading old reports about snapper being caught on plastics has got me very interested, i have read so many reports its not funny and now its time to put them to pratice i have got my self set up well close to
7" nuclear chicken 7"camo 7"crystal shad
these are the softies i have just bought
and coments would be great on if i ahve just shot my self in the foot or hitt the mark spot on
i know my spots hold some good snapper so thats why i have choosen the 7" size not stuffing around wid the 4" and 5"
ps
did any one go out today and get any fish?
Last edited by jake_snapper_king; 27-08-2007 at 05:11 PM.
-
Re: 7" nuclear chicken 7"camo 7"crystal shad
mate i think youd do better with BAIT
-
They work fantastic,tried the electic chicken pattern in 5" at tempest 2weeks ago and destroyed the other 2 on the boat.
The rubber thing worked great,i haven't tried these soft rubber lures before but let me assure you they really work,i could not believe the size of the snapper and plenty of them yet the others bombed out with bait,i still wouldn't throw the pillies away but the proof is in the esky,cheers no worries
-
thanks i will try them next trip no bait is goin to be taken on my side i wann2 see what these plastics are mad of come on big snapper
-
Jake
the nuke chook is the go! Couldn't raise a scale on bait last trip, you're on the right track
-
That's the way to go Jake....Big Plastic, Big Fish and no pickers. That's the way we do it.
P.S. You should try the 7" Bass Assassin in an Alewife, it's a pearl white colour. We have been having a lot of success with this colour lately.
Eric&Deb...
Last edited by The BeaR; 27-08-2007 at 10:57 PM.
Fish Well-Fish Egrell
-
Ausfish Gold Member
hey jake the camo is a good plastic for pearl perch, but the old nuclear chicken is the way to go for the snapper.
cheers tassie JR
-
-
Jake,
Your definitely on the right track, 2 weeks ago I fished off the goldy with softies for the first time, after fishing the sunrise period with bait and had no luck I casted out a 5 inch Nuke chicken and got slammed mid water by a good red that bricked me on 20lb mono. 20 minutes later same again and this time straightened the hook. Since then I have bought a number of 7inch Nuke Chooks and Lime tigers and stepped up to the berkley nitro heads as they have heavier gauge hooks.
I have also bought a new outfit, a Stradic 4000fh spooled with 13kg verigated braid on a new 7ft Rapala Braid concept rod , Total cost around $700.
I am definitely converted!
-
Ausfish Addict
You will be outfishing the bait fishos in no time....
-
G'day again Jake,
Birdy uses the Egrell s8 and s10 on plastics...lovely sticks...a bit dearer than $300.00 though, They are a fast taper graphite rod with an awesome amount of grunt through the body of the rod. The Bear also made by Eric is still a graphite rod with a totally different feel, a medium taper that loads up through the entire length of the rod...they are a very nice thing too.
Like Mark Jono, I have a 7' Rapala Braid concept, 6-12kg...lovely stick, retail around the $300.00 but my local tackle shop, Watertower Bait and tackle at Manly West gave me an excellent discount and I picked the rod up quite a bit cheaper than that. I've matched it to a penn 460l liveliner slammer and loaded it with 15kg sufix performance braid, using 40lb fluro leader. I've been done over by some good fish lately so I'm happy to stay with a slightly more robust line class...but the rod and reel are a perfect match. Got out of the whole set up for under $450.00
Ahh the addiction continues to bite!