Brissy River. We got what we came for!
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Brissy River. We got what we came for!

Brissy River. We got what we came for!

Howdy Ausfishers.

Rich and I both spent the last week at home with him on holidays and me not been able to work because of the weather. We'd spoken a few times to work out what we'd chase when the weather calmed down a bit. At first we were going to chase some bream on hard bodies but change our minds on saturday to hit the river and try our luck at some Jewwies on plastics.

With the fresh pushing out the river, a couple of days before the full moon and the low tide around 1.30 hopes were high. This was to be our first serious jewwie session with niether of us ever boating the ellusive big fish.

Hit the water about 1 oclock and Rich gave me a bit of a tour of the river on the way out to the mouth. Sounded around for a while and found a nice ledge near the mouth of the river. No luck in the first half hour so decided to have a look around again. Found another ledge that was holding alot of bait with a few big arches showing up. Looks promising i said to Rich as i lobbed the big 150mm Squidgie fish out. Lure sank to the bottom on the half ounce head. Lift, twitch, twitch BANG!

The 16lb Braid starts peeling off my bait caster at a great rate of knots. Rich up to his usuall antics " Your snagged, It must be a big ray". Shut up! He's now got me in 2 minds as this big fish has taken alot of line and is staying deep. Please dont be a ray im thinkin. Still this fish takes more line, Rich does a great job on the lecky chasing him and after about 15mins with more of Rich's antics drivin me up the wall. Jumpin around hitting me " This could be a big jewwie mate"

Then the sight that hasnt left my mind all arvo. That big silver flash coming out of that murky water. "HOLY SHIT! How we gunna boat this big bastard? Its not gunna fit in that Bream net you got there Rich." Rich tried to get the Boga's in its mouth and the fish pulls through them as he tried to lift it. " Dont miss it Rich I'll Friggin kill ya!"

Rich got a decent grip on the fish after a few more words of advice on how NOT to touch my leader and if he wants to see his family again get it in the boat. He slowly starts to drag it over the gunnual. This thing just keep comin as Rich stuggles to lift it in. It diddnt look that big in the water. High fives and pats on the back as Richie's loosing his shit and im standing there in awe of the size of this fish.

A few quick snapps which was a stuggle in itself trying to hold him up and we got him back in the water to swim him. took a good 5 mins before he nearly ripped my arm of with a big kick, let the boga's off and away he went. The big silver flash going back into that murky brown water.

I had to sit down, have about 3 smokes and calm myself down, shakin like id seen a ghost. Was a great feeling letting the big fella go and hopefully brings me some good Karma for my future Jew trips.

This would be my best fish to date and to boat him on 16lb gear was awesome. I wish i got a wieght on it but wanted to release it. Im guessing easy 20kg pushin 25kg And close to 1500mm. Whats your opinion?

I managed a couple more cod in the 50's and Rich with a bream and I got smoked near the end of the session chasing snapps on the 4lb gear. The rest of the arvo after the jewwie was a bit of a blur, maybe Rich could fill you in.

Was a great day and 1 im sure i wont forget in a hurry. Had a great mate there to share it with me and he did survive to see his family again. I think im as glad as he is about that

Sorry about the long winded post but my head is still in the clouds.

Cheers Whytey

Re: Brissy River. We got what we came for!

Couple of cod.

That is fantastic, great fish and a great post, thanks for sharing the excitment!!

That's awesome!

Well done and a top Jew looks every part of 25 kg. You could get a accurate measurement off your second photo then you would be able to get a better idea of the weight.

C & R you are a better man than I, or was the esky just not big enough to fit that monster in
    Last edited by Great White; 26-08-2007 at 10:12 PM.
    Peter :cool:

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Top fish Nick, great effort. You sure you still wanna sell that reel???????

Cheers, Jeff

Bloody awesome effort again fellas, well done. Top fish, top pics, top report - congrats.

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Well, after getting off the phone to you, you big freak and taking a measurment based on the photo's and your precise description I can safely say the big girl went somewhere in the vicinity of 1.35-1.4m. AND......As I had the honours of landing the brute (2nd time lucky, just too heavy the first time and tip for young players, use two hands) I will put a guesstimate on her of an easy 25kg.
    Basing this assessment on my recent gym session where I often manipulate 20kg plates onto bars quite freely I'd be inclined to say this was by far and away, alot heavier.
    Nicky, Nicky, Nicky.....Well what can I say. To see you finally haul that big girl up after chasing her into 60ft of water and on 16lb to boot! Ya just can't blame a good mate for being, well.....a little excitable.
    OK, OK! So I nearly tore the shirt from your back mid fight, gave you a few bruises on the back following a few light back slapping (also mid fight) and generally made a nuisance of myself..... But ya can't hold it against me.
    For anyone who doesn't know me I'm a pretty excitable sort of a bloke and it doesn't take much for the adrenalin to start flowing regardless of who's latched on. ( you should see me on the footy field) The fact that we had specifically targeted the big girl on the right gear using big plastics to lure her and looking for the right grounds that would hold a nice jewie, how can ya not be stoked when a plan comes off.
    I'm surprised the fellas working the docks didn't hear me and I'm still not sure who's buzzing more. Me or Whytey??
    Congrats on the special moment champ and letting me get in on the action with ya. Truly was an epic fish.
    Just for the record, we were using big Squidgy Fish and 6" Storm Shads on 16lb Castaway PE. 40lb Vanish leader connected to 5/8oz jigs did the trick with just big hops off the bottom. There was bait everywhere and we just tried to find holes, ledges and eddies to troll. It paid off for us and we were rewarded for our planning.
    The fresh seems to have sent the Squire out to sea and I reckon it'll be a week before the salinity levels in the river stabilize and they fire again. Bream are about in numbers and the Cod gave Nick some fun terrorizing his big Squidgy. Get amongst em boys. Cheers,

Rich

PS: Shrek still holds his form!

Quote Originally Posted by ffejsmada View Post
    Top fish Nick, great effort. You sure you still wanna sell that reel???????

Cheers, Jeff
    Hey Jeff. I wouldnt have been able to land that fish if it didnt have such a smooth drag. To land a fish of that calibre (Around 50lb) on 16lb Braid with 30lb leader gotta say something for the reel. When i rigged up that rod this morning i was meant to change rods to my gl2 c644 to have a bit more grunt but i rigged it on the 10-17lb forcelite which is pretty soft in the tip and couldnt be bothered changing it. Would of been nice to have a bit more pulling power to get that slab off the bottom.

Might have to send the reel to the pool room

Richie, Great day mate Im still buzzin now. I cant sleep and i gotta get up at 5 in the morning. Have to try and nail you 1 next weekend. Then we will be Jew specialists

Cheers Whytey
    Last edited by Why-ting; 26-08-2007 at 10:59 PM.

good report mate thats around the 25kg mark for sure. jew have been productive the last few days.

whay a great specimen, top effort.

al

Thats a great jewie there mate good on ya ,good thing on the release also, i here from a few people that target big jew like that all the time that the fish after the fight is almost dead and will not swim off so they dont even try to let them go, they just chuck em in the esky, it just show you need to give them the time to get the water going through there gills again and then there right top report mate.cheers.
    Last edited by jackextracter; 27-08-2007 at 12:50 AM.

Mate congrats on a ice jewie i can see why you would still be buzzing. i wonder if the big salmon in the river would go the lures only one way to find out.....

What a blast. Wish I was there to see Ritchie bouncing off the gunnels. That would have been a sight.

Great fish and bnice to know it went back.

The water quality looks OK

well done what a fish, great when a plan comes together!!! and on that gear!! have the same reel and am quite impressed! hope i can do the same. well done on a good catch