Thread: Best Tides for fishing Hinchinbrook area

Best Tides for fishing Hinchinbrook area

Hi Guys,

I'm interested in heading up to the Hinchinbrook area in Sept to fish for

barra and jacks etc, just looking for a little local knowledge on what tides and

moon phases fish best in the channel area,

Cheers Nomad62

Re: Best Tides for fishing Hinchinbrook area

Quote Originally Posted by Nomad62 View Post
    Hi Guys,

I'm interested in heading up to the Hinchinbrook area in Sept to fish for

barra and jacks etc, just looking for a little local knowledge on what tides and

moon phases fish best in the channel area,

Cheers Nomad62
    Nomad 62 ..... From the couple of times I've fished the area ... I've found the neap tides (between the full & new moons) .... The most enjoyable ... as there is a smaller differential between high & low tides the water is cleaner The other advantage is that as the tides are not too high or low .... You have many more options (snags) to fish! ..... Anyhow that's my thought ... but I'd dare say some of
    the experienced locals may have other ideas ...... Anyhow best of luck & enjoy what is a great piece of water ..... Nagg
    PS I'll be up at Lucinda in Oct ... so it will be great to hear your report

G'day fellas,

The best tides for creek fishing are those where the run (difference between high & low tide) is between one & two metres. In other words, you need some run or current but not too much. Tides before or coming up to a full or new moon are usually a tad better than tides going down to the neaps.

Two hours either side of low tide is generally the most productive.

When you get up here, you will be most welcome to call at my Lucinda workshop & I will try to get you on to a fish or two. Just do a Google search for "Lucinda Lures" & you should find my website ok.

Cheers - Lou
    Timber lures - just bung 'em in the water mate & hang on !!!

Luigi and Nagg,
    Thanks guys for the info, I plan to fish the lead up to the full moon in Sept and a couple of days after, my time is limited as i am only there for a week. However i have fished there before on a first quarter moon phase with very little to no run and found the fishing was slow but starting to pick up as the tides were building, i guess its like the old saying " No run no fun".

I plan to fish the mangrove edges, mud flats , gutters and drains for barra througout the channel as the tide drains from the mangroves and the sand flats and creek mouths as the tide rises.

If weather permits i wouldn't mind some close inshore bottom bouncing for a red or two, sounds like i'm going for a month instead of a week eh!!!!

Luigi i'm staying up at Cardwell but may do a run from Lucinda, if i do i'll be sure to drop in , thanks again for your advice.

Nagg i hope to find some clear water, on the bigger tides i,ll probably look for Macks, queenies and Gt's. I will pm you on my return with a report.

Cheers Nomad62