-
Ausfish Gold Member
Diesel Gas Conversion
Hi all. Has anyone had their diesel vehicle fited with gas yet? Am seriously looking at doing it for performance and maybe fuel economy. Want to hear any feedback, good or bad.
Bill
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: Diesel Gas Conversion
have not done it myself, but I know someone who has, but it seems that with gas getting dearer and the loss in MPG from diesel to gas, it is not all it is cracked up to be and will take forever to recoup your outlay, and I was not told of any performance loss or enhancement so unsure of that, but I guess if it was heaps he would have said so.
-
Ausfish Addict
there was a recent thread on this topic,,,,, i quickly done a search,,, but didn't have enough info to get a result,,,
diesel/gas conversions have been around for some time,,,, most (if not all) of the public transport buses in brissie run it,,,,
theres a company,, (probably more now) in south oz that put out a fairly large advertising campaign to most of the dealerships in qld advertising it,,,, and going by reports it was successful
funny that,,, we just traded a patrol thats diesel/gas,,,, one of the staff bought it,,, haven't heard any reports but i'll ask tomorrow
can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE
-
went to fraser with redlands fishing club and Craig from the club has a lot to research into the adding of gas to diesel fuel. About 30 % gas to diesel mix. his new patrol went like no diesel i've seen. said the cost was about 3000 and was totally reimbersed for the conversion by the government. i think he had about a 30 litre tank put on. the catch was only possible with turbo diesel cars.
i believe definately worth looking into. also trucks have been doing it for years.
-
Hi Sniper
I own the patrol that went to Fraser with ballsie, It is an 06 4.2TD, I do a bit of Highway towing with a 685 on the back. To say the least the conversion was worth every cent (for what I use the patrol for). The differance in torque is unbeleivable. The differance in economy is probably minimal ( I do not realy know). but the differance if you are loaded is is astronimical. With the rebate that the goverment is offering it is great value. To get the most out of the motor you will have to do the exhaust $1250 plus air filter $175 as well. The 30 litre tank is under the car out of the road. I go through between 25 to 30 liters of LPG with 100 to 120 litres of Diesel. As I have never realy worried about fuel consumption I have no idea what extra mileage I get fro the LPG.
Before I fitted I spoke with one of our suppliers in Melbourne wha has done 100000Ks with Diesel Gas conversion in two years with no problems to date. If you want any more info just ask
Rgs
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Well, booking the Triton in tomorrow with the local guy who fits the Diesel Gas system from SA. Going to cost $4250 less the $2000 back from Johny Howard. Will be about a month before they can do the job but this system is computerised and injects different amounts of gas into the inlet manifold at different rpm to optimise the economy and so it doesn't overfuel the motor apparently. Will let you all know when its been done and had a chance to evaluate the system.
Thanks for the input.
Bill
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Well, just had the conversion done on my 04 T/D Triton. Up 25hp according to the dyno. Definate increase in power. Only picked it up yesterday. Will see how it goes towing the boat on Sunday. And time will tell with the fuel economy side of things. Will post reports as they come to hand. So far happy with it.
Billyboy
-
Ausfish New Member
Hi Sniper
Had my 04 2.8 td triton back from the shop on the 17th of this month after fitting gas , just lodged my rebate application form today. I was going to ask what sort of figures you have got from any dyno stuff the fitters did. Mine shows a 27% increase in power but its from 60 HP to 89.1HP and considering that the manufacturer lists 95KW as the output I was wondering were it all went and what sort of results did you get
Brian
-
95 KW is the output at the flywheel. you 89 hp is at the wheels. things like diffs, gearboxes, transfers,axles etc all yous power to drive therefore the power at the wheels will be reduced at the wheels
-
How's it all going with the conversion Sniper? Interested to hear your opinions on it.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Well its still early stages and still has to have its 1000km check up. Towed the boat out to somerset dam last weekend. Personally, didn't notice any difference in power or economy. Might need a few adjustments after it has settled down. Driving around town noticed only marginally better fuel economy. Might need to get the injuectors done yet. Was going to get them done before the conversion but ran out of time. Will keep you updated no mater which way it goes.
Bill
-
Ausfish New Member
Thanks Benny01
Must correct an error in my last post my figures were 70HP to 89 HP not 60 to 89 HP. Must say i am pretty happy with the result though I have still done less than 1000 k's . But I have been driving with a rather heavy foot while I sus it out and my trip meter which I set on fuelling up after picking the vehicle up from the gas fitters is sitting on 945km with just under 1/4 of a tank showing which includes 15 or so K's in low range which was about an hour of tootling around. The fill before the gas install was 930 k's for a tank full (I am using a 135 Lt tank). Have just returned from northern NSW when I usually pass over the windy section of Mt Lindsay I drop to 4th and cruise thru and occasionally I would get that bit of diesel chatter when your asking a little bit much of it at low 30Kmh rated bends didn't have any of that at all this trip
Last edited by cavedweller; 07-10-2007 at 06:53 PM.
-
-
Ausfish New Member
Hi Easy
Don't know what eco-shot system is I had my install done by Teamgreen in brisbane they use a sequential II system . I also have a 2.5 inch mandrel bent exhaust system fitted with a vortex muffler. Had the gas done first and while I could tell I had more power it was more subtle than having the exhaust done. The thing I really noticed with the exhaust done was how much more freely the engine revved.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
My system is the Diesel/Gas Australia system. After the routine 1000km service, they bumped the gas ratio up a fraction and have heaps of power now. Towing is a breeze. No longer need to throw it down a gear when hitting hills I used to throw it down. Took the previous owner of my current boat to Borumba Dam yesterday and he couldn't believe how well the diesel towed his old boat. He's got a v6 Rodeo and said that my ute shat all over his for power and economy. Will be getting the injectors reco'd soon and a slightly larger exhaust and maybe a snorkel to help it breath a little easier.
So far I'm a happy camper
Bill